update-copyright.git
7 years agoUpdate exception handling to use `except X as Y` syntax.
W. Trevor King [Thu, 25 Oct 2012 21:01:01 +0000 (17:01 -0400)]
Update exception handling to use `except X as Y` syntax.

7 years ago.update-copyright.conf: update to pipe separators.
W. Trevor King [Sat, 20 Oct 2012 11:16:40 +0000 (07:16 -0400)]
.update-copyright.conf: update to pipe separators.

This brings the config file up to speed with the following
update-copyright commit:

  commit 3c68a1a48419d8b2bbc2ce0e7f1700b996ec30e9
  Author: W. Trevor King <wking@tremily.us>
  Date:   Fri Oct 19 21:52:48 2012 -0400

    project: for consistency, also separate ignored paths with pipes

7 years agoproject: for consistency, also separate ignored paths with pipes.
W. Trevor King [Sat, 20 Oct 2012 01:52:48 +0000 (21:52 -0400)]
project: for consistency, also separate ignored paths with pipes.

7 years agoproject: for consistency, also separate alias authors with pipes.
W. Trevor King [Sat, 20 Oct 2012 01:51:39 +0000 (21:51 -0400)]
project: for consistency, also separate alias authors with pipes.

7 years agoproject: use pipe symbols (|) to separate author-hack authors.
W. Trevor King [Sat, 20 Oct 2012 01:47:55 +0000 (21:47 -0400)]
project: use pipe symbols (|) to separate author-hack authors.

Author names may contain commas (e.g. "Red Hat, Inc."), but are
unlikely to contain pipe symbols.

7 years agovcs: adjust .original_year() relative path calculation to match .authors().
W. Trevor King [Sat, 20 Oct 2012 01:43:08 +0000 (21:43 -0400)]
vcs: adjust .original_year() relative path calculation to match .authors().

I should have fixed .authors() back when I fixed .original_year().
Now the filename handling is identical, which should make it easier
for people to keep future updates in sync.

7 years agovcs: use relative paths for matching author-hacks.
W. Trevor King [Sat, 20 Oct 2012 01:40:08 +0000 (21:40 -0400)]
vcs: use relative paths for matching author-hacks.

7 years agoproject: configured author keys should be converted to unicode.
W. Trevor King [Sat, 20 Oct 2012 01:18:52 +0000 (21:18 -0400)]
project: configured author keys should be converted to unicode.

7 years agoproject: preserve case in .update-copyright.conf options.
W. Trevor King [Sat, 20 Oct 2012 01:15:26 +0000 (21:15 -0400)]
project: preserve case in .update-copyright.conf options.

This is important for aliases in particular.

7 years agovcs:utils: some VCSs (e.g. Git) return sets of authors.
W. Trevor King [Sat, 20 Oct 2012 01:10:23 +0000 (21:10 -0400)]
vcs:utils: some VCSs (e.g. Git) return sets of authors.

7 years agoRan update-copyright.
W. Trevor King [Sun, 22 Jul 2012 16:38:23 +0000 (12:38 -0400)]
Ran update-copyright.

7 years agoChange my email address from drexel.edu to tremily.us.
W. Trevor King [Wed, 18 Apr 2012 17:25:10 +0000 (13:25 -0400)]
Change my email address from drexel.edu to tremily.us.

7 years agoMove classifiers into a list in setup.py.
W. Trevor King [Sun, 25 Mar 2012 12:24:24 +0000 (08:24 -0400)]
Move classifiers into a list in setup.py.

This avoids:
  Server response (400): Invalid classifier "<filter object at 0x28604d0>"

7 years agoBump to version 0.4 v0.4
W. Trevor King [Sun, 25 Mar 2012 12:22:15 +0000 (08:22 -0400)]
Bump to version 0.4

7 years agoFix reStructuredText markup for `` */`` in the README.
W. Trevor King [Sun, 25 Mar 2012 12:20:06 +0000 (08:20 -0400)]
Fix reStructuredText markup for `` */`` in the README.

Use a nonbreaking space so that rst knows the first `` is the start of
a literal block.  Because I used a unicode nbsp, adjust setup.py to
appropriately import the long_description.  Note that this means
you'll have to use Python 3 for registering the package.

7 years agoAdd ability to handle blurbs in C-style comments.
W. Trevor King [Sun, 25 Mar 2012 12:06:24 +0000 (08:06 -0400)]
Add ability to handle blurbs in C-style comments.

7 years agoFix Project._ignored_file() doctest, and get it to match directories.
W. Trevor King [Sun, 25 Mar 2012 11:52:46 +0000 (07:52 -0400)]
Fix Project._ignored_file() doctest, and get it to match directories.

With the earlier implementation, adding '.git' to your ignored paths
would not protect '.git/x/y/z', which is not good ;).

7 years agoAdd trailing slash to Gentoo overlay link in README.
W. Trevor King [Wed, 21 Mar 2012 16:49:49 +0000 (12:49 -0400)]
Add trailing slash to Gentoo overlay link in README.

7 years agoFix line -> date typo from incomplete splitout of GitBackend._dates().
W. Trevor King [Thu, 15 Mar 2012 01:40:28 +0000 (21:40 -0400)]
Fix line -> date typo from incomplete splitout of GitBackend._dates().

7 years agoAdd external command invocations to debugging output.
W. Trevor King [Wed, 14 Mar 2012 11:45:39 +0000 (07:45 -0400)]
Add external command invocations to debugging output.

7 years agoSplit out _dates from _years in GitBackend.
W. Trevor King [Wed, 14 Mar 2012 11:38:24 +0000 (07:38 -0400)]
Split out _dates from _years in GitBackend.

This makes it easier for external modules to use the GitBackend to do
different things with the extracted list of dates.

7 years agoUpdate download_url to point to tremily.
W. Trevor King [Wed, 22 Feb 2012 18:56:43 +0000 (13:56 -0500)]
Update download_url to point to tremily.

7 years agoRemove comments from .update-copyright.conf now that the README is better.
W. Trevor King [Thu, 16 Feb 2012 22:54:44 +0000 (17:54 -0500)]
Remove comments from .update-copyright.conf now that the README is better.

Also move the short copyright blurb forward, so people won't have to
scroll through the long blurb to find anything interesting.

7 years agoBump to version 0.3, now that things are working on BE and Hooke. v0.3
W. Trevor King [Thu, 16 Feb 2012 21:59:34 +0000 (16:59 -0500)]
Bump to version 0.3, now that things are working on BE and Hooke.

7 years agoAdd ability to run on a remote root based on the config file.
W. Trevor King [Thu, 16 Feb 2012 20:50:19 +0000 (15:50 -0500)]
Add ability to run on a remote root based on the config file.

For example

  update-copyright.py --config /path/to/project/.update-copyright.conf

will now update the code in `/path/to/project/` without you having to
change into that directory.

7 years agoAdd support for loading author_hacks, year_hacks, and aliases from the config.
W. Trevor King [Thu, 16 Feb 2012 20:20:52 +0000 (15:20 -0500)]
Add support for loading author_hacks, year_hacks, and aliases from the config.

7 years agoRename authors -> _authors in VCSBackend.authors() loop to avoid clobber.
W. Trevor King [Thu, 16 Feb 2012 19:47:23 +0000 (14:47 -0500)]
Rename authors -> _authors in VCSBackend.authors() loop to avoid clobber.

The previous version had been clobbering the raw VCS results.

7 years agoFix VCSBackend.original_year() bug in applying per-file year_hacks.
W. Trevor King [Thu, 16 Feb 2012 19:34:58 +0000 (14:34 -0500)]
Fix VCSBackend.original_year() bug in applying per-file year_hacks.

The per-file value is a single integer, so use `.add` instead of `.update`.

7 years agoFix year_hacks -> self._year_hacks typo in VCSBackend.original_year().
W. Trevor King [Thu, 16 Feb 2012 19:31:11 +0000 (14:31 -0500)]
Fix year_hacks -> self._year_hacks typo in VCSBackend.original_year().

7 years agoAllow '-' characters in section names.
W. Trevor King [Thu, 16 Feb 2012 19:16:30 +0000 (14:16 -0500)]
Allow '-' characters in section names.

7 years agoMake config file parsing more modular.
W. Trevor King [Thu, 16 Feb 2012 19:13:01 +0000 (14:13 -0500)]
Make config file parsing more modular.

7 years agoImprove unicode handling and increase the default textwrap width.
W. Trevor King [Thu, 16 Feb 2012 15:42:43 +0000 (10:42 -0500)]
Improve unicode handling and increase the default textwrap width.

7 years agoUse `with_emails` argument in `VCSBackend.authors()`.
W. Trevor King [Thu, 16 Feb 2012 15:01:10 +0000 (10:01 -0500)]
Use `with_emails` argument in `VCSBackend.authors()`.

7 years agoOops, `ConfigParser(interpolation=None)` belongs to Python 3.
W. Trevor King [Thu, 16 Feb 2012 14:11:01 +0000 (09:11 -0500)]
Oops, `ConfigParser(interpolation=None)` belongs to Python 3.

7 years agoCleanup help strings in bin/update-copyright.py.
W. Trevor King [Thu, 16 Feb 2012 14:10:16 +0000 (09:10 -0500)]
Cleanup help strings in bin/update-copyright.py.

7 years agoFlesh out the README.
W. Trevor King [Thu, 16 Feb 2012 13:33:37 +0000 (08:33 -0500)]
Flesh out the README.

7 years agoUse ConfigParser instead of deprecated RawConfigParser.
W. Trevor King [Thu, 16 Feb 2012 13:27:38 +0000 (08:27 -0500)]
Use ConfigParser instead of deprecated RawConfigParser.

7 years agoRaise errors in Project if the configured backend could not be loaded.
W. Trevor King [Thu, 16 Feb 2012 12:50:22 +0000 (07:50 -0500)]
Raise errors in Project if the configured backend could not be loaded.

7 years agoFix url in setup.py (tremily.us -> blog.tremily.us).
W. Trevor King [Thu, 16 Feb 2012 12:45:47 +0000 (07:45 -0500)]
Fix url in setup.py (tremily.us -> blog.tremily.us).

7 years agoRan update-copyright.py to update setup.py. v0.2
W. Trevor King [Thu, 16 Feb 2012 12:27:13 +0000 (07:27 -0500)]
Ran update-copyright.py to update setup.py.

7 years agoAdd build (created by `python setup.py build`) to .gitignore.
W. Trevor King [Thu, 16 Feb 2012 12:26:36 +0000 (07:26 -0500)]
Add build (created by `python setup.py build`) to .gitignore.

7 years agoAdd setup.py for distutils packaging.
W. Trevor King [Thu, 16 Feb 2012 12:25:49 +0000 (07:25 -0500)]
Add setup.py for distutils packaging.

7 years agoAdd README to list of ignored paths in .update-copyright.conf.
W. Trevor King [Thu, 16 Feb 2012 12:05:44 +0000 (07:05 -0500)]
Add README to list of ignored paths in .update-copyright.conf.

7 years agoWith normpath, there is no need for the prefix * in my ignore globs.
W. Trevor King [Thu, 16 Feb 2012 12:04:28 +0000 (07:04 -0500)]
With normpath, there is no need for the prefix * in my ignore globs.

7 years agoAdd a normpath() to files returned by list_files (less suprising this way).
W. Trevor King [Thu, 16 Feb 2012 12:02:17 +0000 (07:02 -0500)]
Add a normpath() to files returned by list_files (less suprising this way).

7 years agoAdd .update-copyright.conf and .git* to ignored files.
W. Trevor King [Thu, 16 Feb 2012 11:59:50 +0000 (06:59 -0500)]
Add .update-copyright.conf and .git* to ignored files.

7 years agoChange maxium verbosity setting from 0 to logging.DEBUG.
W. Trevor King [Thu, 16 Feb 2012 11:56:37 +0000 (06:56 -0500)]
Change maxium verbosity setting from 0 to logging.DEBUG.

7 years agoAdd AUTHORS and license.py to .gitignore.
W. Trevor King [Thu, 16 Feb 2012 11:54:27 +0000 (06:54 -0500)]
Add AUTHORS and license.py to .gitignore.

7 years agoUse pth instead of p when splitting ignored (don't clobber the configparser).
W. Trevor King [Thu, 16 Feb 2012 11:32:58 +0000 (06:32 -0500)]
Use pth instead of p when splitting ignored (don't clobber the configparser).

7 years agoLog reason for ignoring paths in Project._ignore_file().
W. Trevor King [Thu, 16 Feb 2012 11:31:03 +0000 (06:31 -0500)]
Log reason for ignoring paths in Project._ignore_file().

7 years agoAdd COPYING to list of ignored files in .update-copyright.conf.
W. Trevor King [Thu, 16 Feb 2012 11:29:26 +0000 (06:29 -0500)]
Add COPYING to list of ignored files in .update-copyright.conf.

7 years agoAdd comma-delimiter to list of ignored file globs in Project.load_config().
W. Trevor King [Thu, 16 Feb 2012 11:28:54 +0000 (06:28 -0500)]
Add comma-delimiter to list of ignored file globs in Project.load_config().

7 years agoAdd COPYING.
W. Trevor King [Thu, 16 Feb 2012 02:18:08 +0000 (21:18 -0500)]
Add COPYING.

7 years agoAdd .gitignore.
W. Trevor King [Thu, 16 Feb 2012 02:17:55 +0000 (21:17 -0500)]
Add .gitignore.

7 years agoRun update-copyright on itself.
W. Trevor King [Thu, 16 Feb 2012 02:17:05 +0000 (21:17 -0500)]
Run update-copyright on itself.

7 years agoConvert update-copyright.py to a more modular framework.
W. Trevor King [Thu, 16 Feb 2012 01:43:11 +0000 (20:43 -0500)]
Convert update-copyright.py to a more modular framework.

7 years agoAdd `filename=None` default option to Git's `original_year()`.
W. Trevor King [Thu, 9 Feb 2012 19:10:16 +0000 (14:10 -0500)]
Add `filename=None` default option to Git's `original_year()`.

This had gotten lost in the previous merge.

7 years agoMerge Hooke and BE branches of update-copyright.
W. Trevor King [Thu, 9 Feb 2012 19:01:12 +0000 (14:01 -0500)]
Merge Hooke and BE branches of update-copyright.

7 years agoChange VCS from Mercurial to Git in update_copyright.py.
W. Trevor King [Sun, 8 Jan 2012 15:57:52 +0000 (10:57 -0500)]
Change VCS from Mercurial to Git in update_copyright.py.

7 years agoGrr. Uncomment authors & file lines un update_copyright.py again.
W. Trevor King [Tue, 3 Aug 2010 00:06:56 +0000 (20:06 -0400)]
Grr. Uncomment authors & file lines un update_copyright.py again.

7 years agoRework update_copyright and short_license to allow unwrapped paragraphs.
W. Trevor King [Sat, 31 Jul 2010 11:38:53 +0000 (07:38 -0400)]
Rework update_copyright and short_license to allow unwrapped paragraphs.

The GUI's about popup does it's own wrapping, so the text we send in
should be unwrapped.

7 years agoAdded hooke.plugin.license and removed get-warrenty info from short_license.
W. Trevor King [Fri, 30 Jul 2010 19:45:29 +0000 (15:45 -0400)]
Added hooke.plugin.license and removed get-warrenty info from short_license.

Also uncommented update_authors() and update_files() in
update_copyright, since I'm no longer testing the pyfile code ;).

7 years agoAdded pyfile output to update_copyright.py.
W. Trevor King [Fri, 30 Jul 2010 19:15:40 +0000 (15:15 -0400)]
Added pyfile output to update_copyright.py.

This creates hooke/license.py with licensing strings and functions.
I've updated the copyright blurbs in the command line startup message
and the GUI about message, but haven't actually added the advertised
'warrenty' and 'license' details yet.

7 years agoConvert update_copyright.py to a more VCS-agnostic version.
W. Trevor King [Tue, 1 Jun 2010 17:36:42 +0000 (13:36 -0400)]
Convert update_copyright.py to a more VCS-agnostic version.

This will make it easier for others to grab this code for their own
projects.  Currently supported VCSs: Git, Mercurial, Bazaar.

7 years agoFix /doc/build/ -> ./doc/build/ in update_copyright.py
W. Trevor King [Tue, 1 Jun 2010 14:46:26 +0000 (10:46 -0400)]
Fix /doc/build/ -> ./doc/build/ in update_copyright.py

7 years agoAdjust update_copyright hacks to follow plugin.peakspot -> util.peak move
W. Trevor King [Wed, 19 May 2010 05:03:30 +0000 (01:03 -0400)]
Adjust update_copyright hacks to follow plugin.peakspot -> util.peak move

7 years agoUse ALIASES and AUTHOR_HACKS handling in update_copyright.update_authors.
W. Trevor King [Sun, 16 May 2010 11:26:00 +0000 (07:26 -0400)]
Use ALIASES and AUTHOR_HACKS handling in update_copyright.update_authors.

The previously generated AUTHORS file was the raw list of VCS
commiters.

7 years agoFurther author/year workarounds in update_copyright.py.
W. Trevor King [Sun, 16 May 2010 11:18:00 +0000 (07:18 -0400)]
Further author/year workarounds in update_copyright.py.

7 years agoAdd AUTHOR_HACKS and YEAR_HACKS to update_copyright.py
W. Trevor King [Sun, 16 May 2010 10:51:39 +0000 (06:51 -0400)]
Add AUTHOR_HACKS and YEAR_HACKS to update_copyright.py

This works around holes in the versioning where files were initially
released before being added to the versioning system, or they were
never committed under the name of one of the authors.

7 years agoUpdate canonical copyright names for 'illysam' and 'pancaldi.paulo'.
W. Trevor King [Sat, 15 May 2010 12:25:23 +0000 (08:25 -0400)]
Update canonical copyright names for 'illysam' and 'pancaldi.paulo'.

Also add the missing '.82' to Fabrizio's alias.

7 years agoFix some doctests in update_copyright.py.
W. Trevor King [Sat, 15 May 2010 11:58:48 +0000 (07:58 -0400)]
Fix some doctests in update_copyright.py.

And make some adjustments so that update_copyright.py can update its
own copyright blurb without changing anything else inside itself.

7 years agoRearrange license text and add update_copyright.py.
W. Trevor King [Fri, 14 May 2010 18:40:14 +0000 (14:40 -0400)]
Rearrange license text and add update_copyright.py.

Following http://www.gnu.org/licenses/gpl-howto.html
  * Moved LGPLv3 text from LICENSE -> COPYING.LESSER
  * Brought in GPLv3 text -> COPYING

update_copyright.py automates the maitenance of boilerplate copyright
information at the head of every file.

7 years agoUpdated update_copyright to work with git/hg/bzr.
W. Trevor King [Wed, 23 Jun 2010 01:11:52 +0000 (21:11 -0400)]
Updated update_copyright to work with git/hg/bzr.

I'd added the extra VCS support when I took it over to Hooke.

7 years agoFixed update_copyright.py's subproc import and updated copyrights
W. Trevor King [Fri, 1 Jan 2010 21:51:13 +0000 (16:51 -0500)]
Fixed update_copyright.py's subproc import and updated copyrights

7 years agoBroke subprocess handling out into its own submodule libbe.subproc.
W. Trevor King [Fri, 20 Nov 2009 15:48:36 +0000 (10:48 -0500)]
Broke subprocess handling out into its own submodule libbe.subproc.

7 years agoHave release.py update copyrights as well.
W. Trevor King [Fri, 20 Nov 2009 12:57:17 +0000 (07:57 -0500)]
Have release.py update copyrights as well.

7 years agoTranslated update_copyright.sh to Python update_copyright.py
W. Trevor King [Thu, 19 Nov 2009 21:59:06 +0000 (16:59 -0500)]
Translated update_copyright.sh to Python update_copyright.py

7 years agoUpdated AUTHORS and copyright info for becommands/html.py.
W. Trevor King [Fri, 7 Aug 2009 18:29:16 +0000 (14:29 -0400)]
Updated AUTHORS and copyright info for becommands/html.py.

Also adjusted update_copyright.sh to ignore Gianluca's temporary use
of
  gianluca <gian@galactica>
since he's now using
  Gianluca Montecchi <gian@grys.it>
on becommands/html.py.

7 years agoUpdated GPLv2 to current GPLv2.
W. Trevor King [Tue, 14 Jul 2009 12:13:47 +0000 (08:13 -0400)]
Updated GPLv2 to current GPLv2.

Fixes Ben's bug 00f26f04-9202-4288-8744-b29abc2342d6.

I also tweaked update_copyright.sh to make possible future
copyright-blurb revision easier.  The new algorithm is greedier,
overwriting _all_ consecutive comments after a '^# Copyright' line, so
do
  # Copyright
  #   GPL ... GPL ... GPL

  # Your comment here...
not
  # Copyright
  #   GPL ... GPL ... GPL
  #
  # Your comment here...
Without the blank line, your comment would get overwritten by the next
run of update_copyright.sh.

Note that catmutt is ignored by update_copyright.sh because Moritz
Barsnick has only licensed his grepm code under the GPLv2 (not
GPLv>=2).  See the initial catmutt commit for details.

7 years agoUpdated copyright blurbs and AUTHORS and included script for future updates
W. Trevor King [Thu, 2 Jul 2009 02:20:32 +0000 (22:20 -0400)]
Updated copyright blurbs and AUTHORS and included script for future updates

7 years agoSplit update_copyright.py out of the Bugs Everywhere repository.
W. Trevor King [Thu, 9 Feb 2012 16:35:36 +0000 (11:35 -0500)]
Split update_copyright.py out of the Bugs Everywhere repository.