swc-workshop.git
7 years agosetup/installation-test/swc-installation-test-2.py: Bump minimum IPython version... master
W. Trevor King [Sat, 18 Oct 2014 03:31:16 +0000 (20:31 -0700)]
setup/installation-test/swc-installation-test-2.py: Bump minimum IPython version to 1.0

This pulls in:
cbfbc0f swc-installation-test-2.py: Bump minimum IPython version to 1.0

7 years agosetup/windows-installer: Bump to v0.1
W. Trevor King [Sat, 18 Oct 2014 03:28:58 +0000 (20:28 -0700)]
setup/windows-installer: Bump to v0.1

Significant changes:

* Convert back from POSIX to Python [1]
* Quote $PATH export to account for spaces
* Install nano source syntax highlighters
* Install the sqlite3 shell
* Look for an R bin directory and add it to the PATH
* Add a README and COPYING metadata
* Add --verbose and --version options

[1]: https://github.com/swcarpentry/bc/issues/424

8 years agoversion-control/git/cheat-sheet.md: Add explicit push branch and document branch...
W. Trevor King [Tue, 29 Apr 2014 22:12:57 +0000 (15:12 -0700)]
version-control/git/cheat-sheet.md: Add explicit push branch and document branch base

Pulls in:
d97debc cheat-sheet.md: Mention the default root for 'git branch ...'
7af9993 cheat-sheet.md: Explicitly list the branch to push

8 years agosetup/installation-test/README.md: Convert 'boot camp' -> 'workshop'
W. Trevor King [Mon, 21 Apr 2014 21:29:16 +0000 (14:29 -0700)]
setup/installation-test/README.md: Convert 'boot camp' -> 'workshop'

3f293fc README.md: Convert 'boot camp' -> 'workshop'

8 years agosetup/windows-installer: Install the sqlite3 shell and tweak the docs
W. Trevor King [Mon, 21 Apr 2014 21:27:08 +0000 (14:27 -0700)]
setup/windows-installer: Install the sqlite3 shell and tweak the docs

488c87c swc-windows-installer.sh: Install the sqlite3 shell
1ed39ee swc-windows-installer.sh: Generalize msysGit download link

8 years agosetup/windows-installer: ~/nano.rc syntax highlighting fixes
W. Trevor King [Sun, 16 Mar 2014 21:09:07 +0000 (14:09 -0700)]
setup/windows-installer: ~/nano.rc syntax highlighting fixes

* 'master' of git://tremily.us/swc-setup-windows-installer.git: (2 commits)
  swc-windows-installer.sh: Use '~' in ~/nano.rc includes
  swc-windows-installer.sh: Rename ~/.nanorc to ~/nano.rc

8 years agosql: Add a submodule with Greg Wilson's SQL via IPython notebooks
W. Trevor King [Tue, 11 Mar 2014 17:38:35 +0000 (10:38 -0700)]
sql: Add a submodule with Greg Wilson's SQL via IPython notebooks

We're linking to the novice SQL lessons cherry-picked from
swcarpentry/bc's master branch [1].  The usual layout is
$subject/$tool, so maybe this should be sql/sqlite?  I find it hard to
imagine folks teaching SQL to novices without using SQLite though, so
I've skilled the per-tool repository.  It will be easy to add the
$tool directory if we *do* get someone teaching SQL with another tool.

[1]: https://github.com/swcarpentry/bc

8 years agosetup/windows-installer/swc-windows-installer.sh: Install nano source syntax highlighters
W. Trevor King [Wed, 5 Mar 2014 17:47:24 +0000 (09:47 -0800)]
setup/windows-installer/swc-windows-installer.sh: Install nano source syntax highlighters

Make writing Python source code (and a number of other languages) a
bit more exciting for the eyes and easier on the brain by coloring
strings, comments, and such.

We need to install the source tarball because the compiled zip doesn't
include the syntax highlighting scripts.  To make that easier, I've
extracted out the download / hash-check functionality into a new
download(), which I use in both the old zip_install() and the new
tar_install().  If the user doesn't have an existing ~/.nanorc, we
populate it by adding 'include' options for each of the syntax files
in the Nano tarball.  If they do have an existing ~/.nanorc, I assume
they know what they're doing ;).

8 years agosetup/windows-installer/swc-windows-installer.sh: Convert script from Python to POSIX...
W. Trevor King [Mon, 13 Jan 2014 18:58:25 +0000 (10:58 -0800)]
setup/windows-installer/swc-windows-installer.sh: Convert script from Python to POSIX shell

On Mon, Jan 13, 2014 at 05:49:51AM -0800, Aron Ahmadia wrote:
> We currently have an installer that handles the issue of installing
> `nano` into msysgit for use with Git: ...
>
> This currently doesn't help for bootcamps where Python is not
> installed, so it would be handy to have a version of this that
> doesn't rely on a Python install.

POSIX shell, because an interpreted language from 1977 [1] is more
widely supported than an interpreted language from 1991 [2].  It looks
like the default msysGit install sets up the right double-click magic
too:

On Mon, Jan 13, 2014 at 10:03:24AM -0800, Ethan White wrote:
> Will a POSIX version run by simply double clicking the file?

On Mon, Jan 13, 2014 at 10:25:33AM -0800, Ethan White wrote:
> Just checked this on my Windows machine and it actually seems to
> work automatically as long as GitBash is installed and the file has
> a .sh extension. So POSIX away.

[1]: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bourne_shell
[2]: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Python_language

8 years agosetup/installation-test/swc-installation-test-2.py: Prefer pip to easy_install
W. Trevor King [Sat, 30 Nov 2013 19:34:18 +0000 (11:34 -0800)]
setup/installation-test/swc-installation-test-2.py: Prefer pip to easy_install

For virtual-pypi-installer.  easy_install is part of Setuptools [1],
which was dead for several years.  The Distribute fork took over, but
has since been merged back into a revitalized Setuptools (since
Setuptools v0.7 [2], tagged on 2013-06-02 [3]).  Pip >= v1.4 actually
requires a modern Setuptools, not Distribute [4].  Pip also improves
on easy_install [5], which does not currently support uninstalling
packages [6].

[1]: http://pythonhosted.org/setuptools/
[2]: http://pythonhosted.org/distribute/
[3]: https://bitbucket.org/pypa/setuptools/commits/tag/0.7
[4]: http://www.pip-installer.org/en/latest/installing.html#id6
[5]: http://www.pip-installer.org/en/latest/other-tools.html#easy-install
[6]: http://pythonhosted.org/setuptools/easy_install.html#uninstalling-packages

8 years agoversion-control/git/cheat-sheet.md: Fix 'Incorperate' -> 'Incorporate' typo
W. Trevor King [Fri, 29 Nov 2013 23:42:03 +0000 (15:42 -0800)]
version-control/git/cheat-sheet.md: Fix 'Incorperate' -> 'Incorporate' typo

8 years agosetup/windows-installer: Update to get installation bugfixes
W. Trevor King [Tue, 12 Nov 2013 18:12:43 +0000 (10:12 -0800)]
setup/windows-installer: Update to get installation bugfixes

This pulls in:
* swc-windows-installer.py: Use regular expressions to POSIX-ify paths
* swc-windows-installer.py: Only create the python-scripts dir if it doesn't exist
* swc-windows-installer.py: Split out zip_install into its own function

8 years agoversion-control/git/instructor.md: git -> Git where appropriate
W. Trevor King [Thu, 7 Nov 2013 18:15:25 +0000 (10:15 -0800)]
version-control/git/instructor.md: git -> Git where appropriate

8 years agoversion-control/git/README.md: Update link to SWC contributing page
W. Trevor King [Thu, 31 Oct 2013 22:53:27 +0000 (15:53 -0700)]
version-control/git/README.md: Update link to SWC contributing page

Catch up with the swcarpentry/website -> swcarpentry/site transition,
specifically 86ba191 (Replaced contributing.html page with contrib/
directory containing separate pages for different ways to contribute,
2013-08-22).

8 years agomodular/shell/exercises/hearing: Replace 2012-04-uchichicago commit with 2012-02...
W. Trevor King [Thu, 31 Oct 2013 15:34:46 +0000 (08:34 -0700)]
modular/shell/exercises/hearing: Replace 2012-04-uchichicago commit with 2012-02-trieste

Replace the copy-paste bf93a25 (added data, 2012-03-20) from the
Chicago boot camp with the earlier 3e24204 (Added Da for Shell
example, 2012-01-30) from the Trieste boot camp [2].

[1]: https://github.com/thehackerwithin/UofCSCBC2012
[2]: https://github.com/thehackerwithin/PyTrieste

8 years agosetup/windows-installer: Update with restored nose entry point
W. Trevor King [Thu, 31 Oct 2013 02:52:13 +0000 (19:52 -0700)]
setup/windows-installer: Update with restored nose entry point

This pulls in:
* swc-windows-installer.py: Restore nose entry point

8 years agoshell: Add a submodule for modular programming
W. Trevor King [Thu, 24 Oct 2013 02:45:27 +0000 (19:45 -0700)]
shell: Add a submodule for modular programming

8 years agosetup: Add a submodule with student-setup utilities
W. Trevor King [Wed, 23 Oct 2013 19:21:15 +0000 (12:21 -0700)]
setup: Add a submodule with student-setup utilities

8 years agoversion-control: Add a submodule with my subject-level notes
W. Trevor King [Wed, 23 Oct 2013 13:03:49 +0000 (06:03 -0700)]
version-control: Add a submodule with my subject-level notes

8 years agoinstructor.md: Move README.md to instructor.md
W. Trevor King [Wed, 23 Oct 2013 05:39:10 +0000 (22:39 -0700)]
instructor.md: Move README.md to instructor.md

This is instructor-facing content.  We still need an inspirational
blurb for the student-facing README.

8 years agoConversion of all rst to corresponding markdown files
Jon Pipitone [Fri, 1 Feb 2013 18:08:26 +0000 (13:08 -0500)]
Conversion of all rst to corresponding markdown files

We use git-flavoured markdown

8 years ago.mailmap: standardize identifiers for Joshua, Katy, Matt, and Sri
W. Trevor King [Fri, 23 Nov 2012 13:48:45 +0000 (08:48 -0500)]
.mailmap: standardize identifiers for Joshua, Katy, Matt, and Sri

8 years agoIgnore weird mac DS_Store files.
arokem [Mon, 25 Mar 2013 00:37:18 +0000 (17:37 -0700)]
Ignore weird mac DS_Store files.

8 years agoUpdate LICENSE.md
Matt [Mon, 24 Sep 2012 16:20:21 +0000 (13:20 -0300)]
Update LICENSE.md

8 years agoAdded CC license.
Joshua Ryan Smith [Mon, 11 Jun 2012 01:07:18 +0000 (21:07 -0400)]
Added CC license.
Removed cruft.

8 years agoREADME.md: Line wrapping and reference-style links
W. Trevor King [Fri, 11 Jan 2013 18:03:15 +0000 (13:03 -0500)]
README.md: Line wrapping and reference-style links

This makes the README easier to read in a terminal or editor, while
leaving the Markdown output unchanged.

8 years agoAdding contributing guidelines.
Matt Davis [Sun, 30 Dec 2012 03:26:39 +0000 (22:26 -0500)]
Adding contributing guidelines.

Includes license, workflow, and file formats sections.

8 years agoAdding some useful developer info and links to the README.
Matt Davis [Sat, 29 Dec 2012 17:44:50 +0000 (12:44 -0500)]
Adding some useful developer info and links to the README.

Signed-off-by: Matt Davis <jiffyclub@gmail.com>
8 years ago.mailmap: Standardize identifiers for Lynne and Matt
W. Trevor King [Mon, 31 Dec 2012 13:48:00 +0000 (08:48 -0500)]
.mailmap: Standardize identifiers for Lynne and Matt

9 years agoAdding .gitignore.
Matt Davis [Sat, 29 Dec 2012 03:30:20 +0000 (22:30 -0500)]
Adding .gitignore.

9 years agoInitial commit
Matt [Fri, 23 Nov 2012 02:14:38 +0000 (18:14 -0800)]
Initial commit