swc-version-control.git
8 years agogit/cheat-sheet.md: Add explicit push branch and document branch base master
W. Trevor King [Tue, 29 Apr 2014 22:11:25 +0000 (15:11 -0700)]
git/cheat-sheet.md: Add explicit push branch and document branch base

Pulls in:
d97debc cheat-sheet.md: Mention the default root for 'git branch ...'
7af9993 cheat-sheet.md: Explicitly list the branch to push

8 years agogit/cheat-sheet.md: Fix 'Incorperate' -> 'Incorporate' typo
W. Trevor King [Fri, 29 Nov 2013 23:41:25 +0000 (15:41 -0800)]
git/cheat-sheet.md: Fix 'Incorperate' -> 'Incorporate' typo

8 years agogit/instructor.md: git -> Git where appropriate
W. Trevor King [Thu, 7 Nov 2013 18:14:18 +0000 (10:14 -0800)]
git/instructor.md: git -> Git where appropriate

8 years agogit/README.md: Update link to SWC contributing page
W. Trevor King [Thu, 31 Oct 2013 22:52:43 +0000 (15:52 -0700)]
git/README.md: Update link to SWC contributing page

Catch up with the swcarpentry/website -> swcarpentry/site transition,
specifically 86ba191 (Replaced contributing.html page with contrib/
directory containing separate pages for different ways to contribute,
2013-08-22).

8 years agosvn: Add a submodule with my Subversion notes
W. Trevor King [Wed, 23 Oct 2013 12:57:11 +0000 (05:57 -0700)]
svn: Add a submodule with my Subversion notes

8 years agogit: Add a submodule with my Git notes
W. Trevor King [Wed, 23 Oct 2013 12:56:21 +0000 (05:56 -0700)]
git: Add a submodule with my Git notes

I'm using tremily.us hosting while I stub this out, because setting up
tons of teensy GitHub repositories is annoying ;).  Unfortunately,
using Git's submodules self-referentially to checkout local branches
in subdirectories is not supported.  However, the
seperate-repository-per-submodule approach does have benefits for
space saving when folks don't use --reference clones.

8 years agoREADME.md: Remove nesting version-control/
W. Trevor King [Wed, 23 Oct 2013 12:04:35 +0000 (05:04 -0700)]
README.md: Remove nesting version-control/

There's no need to hard-code target directories in this repository.
Anyone consuming this material can use submodules and pick their own
target directory.

8 years agoversion-control/instructor.md: Add a 'Tool choices' section
W. Trevor King [Wed, 23 Oct 2013 04:15:03 +0000 (21:15 -0700)]
version-control/instructor.md: Add a 'Tool choices' section

Software Carpentry is about how to develop software, which is largely
independent of the tooling for a particular task.  This branch only
contains the generic motivation and introduction for version control.
That's nice, but a particular Software Carpentry course or boot camp
*is* going to want to teach a specific tool, and we want instructors
to easily be able to find and integrate notes for the tool they
choose.

This setup doesn't assume that there is a single canonical set of
notes for a given tool.  If you don't like the branches I've listed,
write up your own.  If you tell me about it, I'll add a link to your
branch as well, and we can try and work up some short descriptions to
help new instructors differentiate between the two approaches.

The choices are in the format used by `git request-pull`, so you can
run:

  $ git merge $CHOICE

to merge the branch.  For example:

  $ git merge git://github.com/wking/swc-boot-camps.git version-control-git

without bothering to setup remotes, etc.

8 years agoversion-control/svn: Remove SVN-specific content
W. Trevor King [Wed, 23 Oct 2013 04:09:19 +0000 (21:09 -0700)]
version-control/svn: Remove SVN-specific content

This branch is only interested in motivating version control and
providing generic information about it.  Tool-specific information is
contained in tool-specific branches.

8 years agoversion-control/README.md: Add a motivational paragraph
W. Trevor King [Mon, 24 Jun 2013 13:55:13 +0000 (09:55 -0400)]
version-control/README.md: Add a motivational paragraph

The text is adapted from 3976755 (Added the file for lesson 2,
2012-02-04), which I cherry picked out of boot-camps (where it is
d48ceea) [1].

[1] https://github.com/swcarpentry/boot-camps

8 years agoversion-control/cheet-sheet.md: Add a generic outline for the cheat sheet
W. Trevor King [Mon, 10 Jun 2013 16:18:18 +0000 (12:18 -0400)]
version-control/cheet-sheet.md: Add a generic outline for the cheat sheet

8 years agoversion-control: Make README.md and instructor.md more generic
W. Trevor King [Mon, 10 Jun 2013 16:13:12 +0000 (12:13 -0400)]
version-control: Make README.md and instructor.md more generic

Don't assume we're teaching Subversion when explaining why version
control is important or what we expect students to get out of it.  The
Subversion-specific notes are now in the svn subdirectory.

8 years agoversion-control: Add README.md and instructor.md from the guide
W. Trevor King [Mon, 10 Jun 2013 15:44:15 +0000 (11:44 -0400)]
version-control: Add README.md and instructor.md from the guide

Move instructor hints (For Instructors section) and subject outlines
("understand" and "keypoints" classes) from the instructor guide [1]
into the boot camp repository.  This is currently targeted at
Subversion, but making these notes tool-agnostic will come in the next
commit.  Here I just copy the guide content over while translating it
to Markdown.

For posterity, I've grafted on the guide history.  Here's how I
extracted the svn.html history from the guide repository:

1. Start a new branch in the earlier guide repository:

  $ git checkout -b wip d013cab

2. Limit history to svn.html:

  $ git filter-branch -f --prune-empty \
  > --index-filter 'git rm --cached --ignore-unmatch $(git ls-files | grep -v svn.html)' \
  > HEAD

3. Drop no-op merges:

  $ git rebase -i 0025ac4

Then I cherry-picked my original boot-camps commit (c1330e0) onto the
result to create this commit:

  $ git cherry-pick c1330e0
  $ git rm svn.html
  $ git commit --amend

[1]: https://github.com/swcarpentry/guide

8 years agoAdding status flags
Greg Wilson [Tue, 23 Apr 2013 10:34:17 +0000 (06:34 -0400)]
Adding status flags

8 years agoAdding durations
Greg Wilson [Mon, 22 Apr 2013 19:26:06 +0000 (15:26 -0400)]
Adding durations

8 years agoAdding figures
Greg Wilson [Mon, 22 Apr 2013 18:10:52 +0000 (14:10 -0400)]
Adding figures

8 years agoFinishing the revisions to the Subversion chapter
Greg Wilson [Mon, 22 Apr 2013 16:30:00 +0000 (12:30 -0400)]
Finishing the revisions to the Subversion chapter

8 years agoA little more tidy-up
Greg Wilson [Mon, 22 Apr 2013 10:24:40 +0000 (06:24 -0400)]
A little more tidy-up

8 years agoRemoving the colon
Greg Wilson [Sun, 21 Apr 2013 20:30:36 +0000 (16:30 -0400)]
Removing the colon

8 years agoReverting files in version control
Greg Wilson [Sun, 21 Apr 2013 20:29:40 +0000 (16:29 -0400)]
Reverting files in version control

8 years agoTidying up another section of the instructors' guide on SVN
Greg Wilson [Sun, 21 Apr 2013 18:30:16 +0000 (14:30 -0400)]
Tidying up another section of the instructors' guide on SVN

8 years agoChallenges for SVN intro
Greg Wilson [Sat, 20 Apr 2013 20:28:44 +0000 (16:28 -0400)]
Challenges for SVN intro

8 years agoStarting to revise instructors' guide on SVN
Greg Wilson [Sat, 20 Apr 2013 15:30:01 +0000 (11:30 -0400)]
Starting to revise instructors' guide on SVN

8 years agoAdded the file for lesson 2
Katy Huff [Sat, 4 Feb 2012 19:25:28 +0000 (13:25 -0600)]
Added the file for lesson 2

9 years agoCleaning up the build process
Greg Wilson [Tue, 19 Mar 2013 00:16:26 +0000 (20:16 -0400)]
Cleaning up the build process

9 years agoBringing in material from main repo
Greg Wilson [Mon, 18 Mar 2013 15:09:55 +0000 (11:09 -0400)]
Bringing in material from main  repo

9 years agoInitial commit
Greg Wilson [Mon, 18 Mar 2013 13:49:17 +0000 (06:49 -0700)]
Initial commit