swc-version-control-svn.git
8 years agoREADME.md: Remove nesting version-control/svn master
W. Trevor King [Wed, 23 Oct 2013 12:01:55 +0000 (05:01 -0700)]
README.md: Remove nesting version-control/svn

There's no need to hard-code target directories in this repository.
Anyone consuming this material can use submodules and pick their own
target directory.

8 years agoversion-control: Remove subject-level documents from this SVN branch
W. Trevor King [Wed, 23 Oct 2013 04:07:35 +0000 (21:07 -0700)]
version-control: Remove subject-level documents from this SVN branch

This branch should only contain the tool-level content specific to
Subversion.

8 years agoversion-control/README.md: Add a motivational paragraph
W. Trevor King [Mon, 24 Jun 2013 13:55:13 +0000 (09:55 -0400)]
version-control/README.md: Add a motivational paragraph

The text is adapted from 3976755 (Added the file for lesson 2,
2012-02-04), which I cherry picked out of boot-camps (where it is
d48ceea) [1].

[1] https://github.com/swcarpentry/boot-camps

8 years agoversion-control/cheet-sheet.md: Add a generic outline for the cheat sheet
W. Trevor King [Mon, 10 Jun 2013 16:18:18 +0000 (12:18 -0400)]
version-control/cheet-sheet.md: Add a generic outline for the cheat sheet

8 years agoversion-control: Make README.md and instructor.md more generic
W. Trevor King [Mon, 10 Jun 2013 16:13:12 +0000 (12:13 -0400)]
version-control: Make README.md and instructor.md more generic

Don't assume we're teaching Subversion when explaining why version
control is important or what we expect students to get out of it.  The
Subversion-specific notes are now in the svn subdirectory.

8 years agoversion-control: Add README.md and instructor.md from the guide
W. Trevor King [Mon, 10 Jun 2013 15:44:15 +0000 (11:44 -0400)]
version-control: Add README.md and instructor.md from the guide

Move instructor hints (For Instructors section) and subject outlines
("understand" and "keypoints" classes) from the instructor guide [1]
into the boot camp repository.  This is currently targeted at
Subversion, but making these notes tool-agnostic will come in the next
commit.  Here I just copy the guide content over while translating it
to Markdown.

For posterity, I've grafted on the guide history.  Here's how I
extracted the svn.html history from the guide repository:

1. Start a new branch in the earlier guide repository:

  $ git checkout -b wip d013cab

2. Limit history to svn.html:

  $ git filter-branch -f --prune-empty \
  > --index-filter 'git rm --cached --ignore-unmatch $(git ls-files | grep -v svn.html)' \
  > HEAD

3. Drop no-op merges:

  $ git rebase -i 0025ac4

Then I cherry-picked my original boot-camps commit (c1330e0) onto the
result to create this commit:

  $ git cherry-pick c1330e0
  $ git rm svn.html
  $ git commit --amend

[1]: https://github.com/swcarpentry/guide

8 years agoAdding status flags
Greg Wilson [Tue, 23 Apr 2013 10:34:17 +0000 (06:34 -0400)]
Adding status flags

8 years agoAdding durations
Greg Wilson [Mon, 22 Apr 2013 19:26:06 +0000 (15:26 -0400)]
Adding durations

8 years agoAdding figures
Greg Wilson [Mon, 22 Apr 2013 18:10:52 +0000 (14:10 -0400)]
Adding figures

8 years agoFinishing the revisions to the Subversion chapter
Greg Wilson [Mon, 22 Apr 2013 16:30:00 +0000 (12:30 -0400)]
Finishing the revisions to the Subversion chapter

8 years agoA little more tidy-up
Greg Wilson [Mon, 22 Apr 2013 10:24:40 +0000 (06:24 -0400)]
A little more tidy-up

8 years agoRemoving the colon
Greg Wilson [Sun, 21 Apr 2013 20:30:36 +0000 (16:30 -0400)]
Removing the colon

8 years agoReverting files in version control
Greg Wilson [Sun, 21 Apr 2013 20:29:40 +0000 (16:29 -0400)]
Reverting files in version control

8 years agoTidying up another section of the instructors' guide on SVN
Greg Wilson [Sun, 21 Apr 2013 18:30:16 +0000 (14:30 -0400)]
Tidying up another section of the instructors' guide on SVN

8 years agoChallenges for SVN intro
Greg Wilson [Sat, 20 Apr 2013 20:28:44 +0000 (16:28 -0400)]
Challenges for SVN intro

8 years agoStarting to revise instructors' guide on SVN
Greg Wilson [Sat, 20 Apr 2013 15:30:01 +0000 (11:30 -0400)]
Starting to revise instructors' guide on SVN

8 years agoAdded the file for lesson 2
Katy Huff [Sat, 4 Feb 2012 19:25:28 +0000 (13:25 -0600)]
Added the file for lesson 2

9 years agoCleaning up the build process
Greg Wilson [Tue, 19 Mar 2013 00:16:26 +0000 (20:16 -0400)]
Cleaning up the build process

9 years agoBringing in material from main repo
Greg Wilson [Mon, 18 Mar 2013 15:09:55 +0000 (11:09 -0400)]
Bringing in material from main  repo

9 years agoInitial commit
Greg Wilson [Mon, 18 Mar 2013 13:49:17 +0000 (06:49 -0700)]
Initial commit