swc-version-control-git.git
8 years agocheat-sheet.md: Mention the default root for 'git branch ...' master
W. Trevor King [Tue, 29 Apr 2014 22:09:21 +0000 (15:09 -0700)]
cheat-sheet.md: Mention the default root for 'git branch ...'

From git-branch(1):

  git branch [options] <branchname> [<start-point>]

8 years agocheat-sheet.md: Explicitly list the branch to push
W. Trevor King [Tue, 29 Apr 2014 22:08:13 +0000 (15:08 -0700)]
cheat-sheet.md: Explicitly list the branch to push

With Git 2.0, the default push strategy changed to 'simple', only
pushing the current branch.  However, for backwards compatibility and
general explicit-ness, it's better to list the refs you're pushing
anyway.

8 years agocheat-sheet.md: Fix 'Incorperate' -> 'Incorporate' typo
W. Trevor King [Fri, 29 Nov 2013 23:40:28 +0000 (15:40 -0800)]
cheat-sheet.md: Fix 'Incorperate' -> 'Incorporate' typo

8 years agogit -> Git where appropriate
Matt Davis [Thu, 7 Nov 2013 17:25:46 +0000 (09:25 -0800)]
git -> Git where appropriate

W. Trevor King: The conflicts with the original f3bc1dd [1] were
trivial, involving the YAML front matter introduced by 208c61f (Add
header material and author to git and GitHub lesson, 2013-11-06).  I
haven't included 208c61f in this history because:

* This Markdown source is not necessarily destined for Jekyll.
* The author information is clear from the Git history, and explicit
  author listings in text itself are hard to keep up to date.

[1]: https://github.com/swcarpentry/bc/pull/133

Conflicts:
instructor.md

8 years agoREADME.md: Update link to SWC contributing page
W. Trevor King [Thu, 31 Oct 2013 22:50:57 +0000 (15:50 -0700)]
README.md: Update link to SWC contributing page

Catch up with the swcarpentry/website -> swcarpentry/site transition,
specifically 86ba191 (Replaced contributing.html page with contrib/
directory containing separate pages for different ways to contribute,
2013-08-22).

8 years agoREADME.md: Remove nesting version-control/git
W. Trevor King [Wed, 23 Oct 2013 12:04:02 +0000 (05:04 -0700)]
README.md: Remove nesting version-control/git

There's no need to hard-code target directories in this repository.
Anyone consuming this material can use submodules and pick their own
target directory.

8 years agoversion-control/git/README.md: Add paragraph pitching Git
W. Trevor King [Mon, 24 Jun 2013 14:16:19 +0000 (10:16 -0400)]
version-control/git/README.md: Add paragraph pitching Git

Why should you use this tool?

8 years agoversion-control/git: Use git-and-github notes
W. Trevor King [Mon, 10 Jun 2013 19:13:07 +0000 (15:13 -0400)]
version-control/git: Use git-and-github notes

Consolidate on these instructor notes because they are already in a
condensed format.  Remove the long-form local/remote READMEs, whose
content should be merged into the instructor guide.  Flesh out the
cheat sheet with additional commands mentioned in the new instructor
notes.

8 years agoversion-control/git/cheet-sheet.md: Add a Git-specific cheat sheet
W. Trevor King [Mon, 10 Jun 2013 16:54:29 +0000 (12:54 -0400)]
version-control/git/cheet-sheet.md: Add a Git-specific cheat sheet

8 years agoInstructor notes for teaching git via collaboration on GitHub.
Matt Davis [Fri, 22 Feb 2013 22:03:42 +0000 (17:03 -0500)]
Instructor notes for teaching git via collaboration on GitHub.

The focus of the lesson is to have students contribute to a repo on GitHub in
which we are building up a list of the things they are most interested in
learning at the boot camp. Requires everyone have a good internet connection
and that at least some of the participants sign up for GitHub.