swc-sql.git
7 years ago*.ipynb: Use absolute URLs to link to the glossary master
W. Trevor King [Tue, 11 Mar 2014 17:15:36 +0000 (10:15 -0700)]
*.ipynb: Use absolute URLs to link to the glossary

SWC has a single, global glossary [1], not per-subject glossaries.
Because this per-subject branch no longer contains the global
glossary, we need to adjust the links to point at an external
glossary.  Done automatically with:

  $ sed -i 's|\.\./\.\./gloss.html|https://github.com/swcarpentry/bc/blob/master/gloss.md|g' *.ipynb

[1]: https://github.com/swcarpentry/bc/blob/master/gloss.md

7 years agoindex.md: Remove YAML front-matter
W. Trevor King [Tue, 11 Mar 2014 17:12:12 +0000 (10:12 -0700)]
index.md: Remove YAML front-matter

We're not building this stand-alone lesson as part of a larger Jekyll
site, so remove the YAML front-matter [1].

[1]: http://jekyllrb.com/docs/frontmatter/

7 years agoRemove novice/sql namespace
W. Trevor King [Tue, 11 Mar 2014 05:01:23 +0000 (22:01 -0700)]
Remove novice/sql namespace

Now that these lessons are in a single branch, the extra namespacing
is no longer needed.

7 years agoReorganizing material to put novice + intermediate at top level
Greg Wilson [Sun, 16 Feb 2014 13:17:08 +0000 (08:17 -0500)]
Reorganizing material to put novice + intermediate at top level

W. Trevor King: I removed everything from the original b8c7dc3 [1]
except the sql/novice -> novice/sql migration.

[1]: https://github.com/swcarpentry/bc/commit/b8c7dc3b75002b898f26df551a2c646d78e3aaca

7 years agoPreparing material for Version 5 novice release
Greg Wilson [Fri, 7 Feb 2014 17:05:02 +0000 (12:05 -0500)]
Preparing material for Version 5 novice release

W. Trevor King: I removed everything except the sql/novice changes
from the original b66851c [1].

[1]: https://github.com/swcarpentry/bc/commit/b66851c2b765440e5c7ccb23383aff15eec31ff2

7 years agoFixing data type error in SQL creation
Greg Wilson [Wed, 29 Jan 2014 20:46:25 +0000 (15:46 -0500)]
Fixing data type error in SQL creation

7 years agoSwitching to triple-tilde in Markdown code blocks in IPython Notebooks
Greg Wilson [Sat, 21 Dec 2013 12:40:27 +0000 (07:40 -0500)]
Switching to triple-tilde in Markdown code blocks in IPython Notebooks

W. Trevor King: I removed everything except the sql/novice changes
from the original c6e5b9c [1].

[1]: https://github.com/swcarpentry/bc/commit/c6e5b9cb15e259680e413f289d9bb96c538e7ffd

7 years agoResizing bounding boxes of SVGs (manually, since LibreOffice doesn't do it)
Greg Wilson [Wed, 4 Dec 2013 17:56:37 +0000 (12:56 -0500)]
Resizing bounding boxes of SVGs (manually, since LibreOffice doesn't do it)

W. Trevor King: I removed everything except the sql/novice changes
from the original aa7606e [1].

[1]: https://github.com/swcarpentry/bc/commit/aa7606eb73d0d13b4ba7e9025944418f380544cd

7 years agoAdding diagrams to novice SQL lessons
Greg Wilson [Wed, 4 Dec 2013 15:08:16 +0000 (10:08 -0500)]
Adding diagrams to novice SQL lessons

7 years agoNotes on what diagrams need to be drawn
Greg Wilson [Tue, 3 Dec 2013 19:44:38 +0000 (14:44 -0500)]
Notes on what diagrams need to be drawn

W. Trevor King: I removed everything except the sql/novice changes
from the original bc83c3f [1].

[1]: https://github.com/swcarpentry/bc/commit/bc83c3fe35ea0b153df6f330aa8ca23748b78cfc

7 years agoSwitching to numbered list for lesson links in index files
Greg Wilson [Tue, 3 Dec 2013 14:42:55 +0000 (09:42 -0500)]
Switching to numbered list for lesson links in index files

W. Trevor King: I removed everything except the sql/novice changes
from the original 7cd5ffa [1].

[1]: https://github.com/swcarpentry/bc/commit/7cd5ffafd7ba229d21aad44796b22146fec5054c

7 years agoFilling in another 40-odd glossary entries
Greg Wilson [Tue, 3 Dec 2013 14:06:32 +0000 (09:06 -0500)]
Filling in another 40-odd glossary entries

W. Trevor King: I removed everything except the sql/novice changes
from the original ff40e98 [1].

[1]: https://github.com/swcarpentry/bc/commit/ff40e989b920234e6ed8cdae6344d9898e2a3005

7 years agoFilling in glossary entries
Greg Wilson [Mon, 2 Dec 2013 21:03:39 +0000 (16:03 -0500)]
Filling in glossary entries

W. Trevor King: I removed everything except the sql/novice changes
from the original 20d3384 [1].

[1]: https://github.com/swcarpentry/bc/commit/20d33848883b620ef2e948e12c15e0bfc8ed3660

7 years agoSQL reference sheet
Greg Wilson [Sat, 30 Nov 2013 17:07:50 +0000 (12:07 -0500)]
SQL reference sheet

7 years agoUpdating SQL notes and guide
Greg Wilson [Fri, 29 Nov 2013 20:21:39 +0000 (15:21 -0500)]
Updating SQL notes and guide

7 years agoInstructor's guide for Python
Greg Wilson [Fri, 29 Nov 2013 20:04:47 +0000 (15:04 -0500)]
Instructor's guide for Python

W. Trevor King: I removed everything except the sql/novice changes
from the original c963afa [1].

[1]: https://github.com/swcarpentry/bc/commit/c963afa71ba3a7eacada0ff5b4db6dc4f2295e81

7 years agoInstructor's guide for SQL
Greg Wilson [Fri, 29 Nov 2013 19:53:36 +0000 (14:53 -0500)]
Instructor's guide for SQL

7 years agoUpdating index files
Greg Wilson [Fri, 29 Nov 2013 15:15:17 +0000 (10:15 -0500)]
Updating index files

W. Trevor King: I removed everything except the sql/novice changes
from the original b23e277 [1].

[1]: https://github.com/swcarpentry/bc/commit/b23e2772153844b1d8e1ee09b439653847a05ede

7 years agoModfiying links to glossary in notebook files
Greg Wilson [Fri, 22 Nov 2013 15:09:43 +0000 (10:09 -0500)]
Modfiying links to glossary in notebook files

W. Trevor King: I removed the python/ changes from the original
bac4388 [1] as I try to isolate the SQL section.

[1]: https://github.com/swcarpentry/bc/commit/bac43889abf296672bb1dc018bcd8b53eb18dc9f

7 years agoCleaning up before submitting pull request
Greg Wilson [Sun, 10 Nov 2013 14:17:00 +0000 (09:17 -0500)]
Cleaning up before submitting pull request

7 years ago1. Filled in 'group by'.
Greg Wilson [Sun, 10 Nov 2013 13:18:08 +0000 (08:18 -0500)]
1. Filled in 'group by'.
2. Put data hygiene in discussion of joins.
3. Got rid of 'next steps' sections.

7 years agoMore database lessons for novices. To do:
Greg Wilson [Sun, 10 Nov 2013 10:30:52 +0000 (05:30 -0500)]
More database lessons for novices.  To do:
*   `group by` in aggregation
*   data hygiene
*   explain the `%%sqlite` magic

7 years agoFirst three lessons on SQL for beginners
Greg Wilson [Sat, 9 Nov 2013 16:43:13 +0000 (11:43 -0500)]
First three lessons on SQL for beginners