swc-setup-get-my-ip.git
7 years agoget-my-ip.py: Remove nesting setup/ master
W. Trevor King [Wed, 23 Oct 2013 18:54:10 +0000 (11:54 -0700)]
get-my-ip.py: Remove nesting setup/

There's no need to hard-code target directories in this repository.
Anyone consuming this material can use submodules and pick their own
target directory.

7 years agoget-my-ip.py: Python 2.x sockets can't be used in 'with' statements
W. Trevor King [Tue, 19 Feb 2013 02:56:16 +0000 (21:56 -0500)]
get-my-ip.py: Python 2.x sockets can't be used in 'with' statements

They don't have __exit__.  Use an explicit try/except block to be
compatible with both 2.x and 3.x.

7 years agoget-my-ip.py: Add a script for getting your public IP address
W. Trevor King [Tue, 19 Feb 2013 02:52:13 +0000 (21:52 -0500)]
get-my-ip.py: Add a script for getting your public IP address

This will help students connect to each other on the LAN during class.
Note that if you ping a host across a NAT, you'll get your IP inside
the NAT, not the NAT's IP.