swc-modular-shell.git
7 years agoexercises/hearing: Replace 2012-04-uchichicago commit with 2012-02-trieste master
W. Trevor King [Thu, 31 Oct 2013 15:24:58 +0000 (08:24 -0700)]
exercises/hearing: Replace 2012-04-uchichicago commit with 2012-02-trieste

Replace the copy-paste bf93a25 (added data, 2012-03-20) from the
Chicago boot camp with the earlier 3e24204 (Added Da for Shell
example, 2012-01-30) from the Trieste boot camp [2].

[1]: https://github.com/thehackerwithin/UofCSCBC2012
[2]: https://github.com/thehackerwithin/PyTrieste

7 years agoexercises/genotype: Add the genotype example submodule
W. Trevor King [Wed, 30 Oct 2013 03:45:37 +0000 (20:45 -0700)]
exercises/genotype: Add the genotype example submodule

Drop exercises from the submodule name in case we want to reorganize
later.  We won't have any other 'genotype' submodules.

7 years agoexercises/dictionary: Add the dictionary example submodule
W. Trevor King [Tue, 29 Oct 2013 23:06:36 +0000 (16:06 -0700)]
exercises/dictionary: Add the dictionary example submodule

Drop exercises from the submodule name in case we want to reorganize
later.  We won't have any other 'dictionary' submodules.

7 years agoexercises/hearing: Add the cochlear implant example submodule
W. Trevor King [Thu, 24 Oct 2013 15:40:10 +0000 (08:40 -0700)]
exercises/hearing: Add the cochlear implant example submodule

Drop exercises from the submodule name in case we want to reorganize
later.  We won't have any other 'hearing' submodules.

7 years agoinstructor.md: Update hello path with deeper hello/hello nesting
W. Trevor King [Thu, 24 Oct 2013 03:05:40 +0000 (20:05 -0700)]
instructor.md: Update hello path with deeper hello/hello nesting

The hello script is at .../exercises/hello/hello now, not
.../exercises/hello, because .../exercises/hello is the submodule
directory.

7 years agoexercises/hello: Add the hello script example submodule
W. Trevor King [Thu, 24 Oct 2013 03:04:43 +0000 (20:04 -0700)]
exercises/hello: Add the hello script example submodule

Drop exercises from the submodule name in case we want to reorganize
later.  We won't have any other 'hello' submodules.

7 years agoREADME.md: Remove nesting modular/shell/
W. Trevor King [Thu, 24 Oct 2013 02:33:52 +0000 (19:33 -0700)]
README.md: Remove nesting modular/shell/

There's no need to hard-code target directories in this repository.
Anyone consuming this material can use submodules and pick their own
target directory.

7 years agomodular/shell: Start reorganizing the shell material
W. Trevor King [Thu, 27 Jun 2013 16:46:13 +0000 (12:46 -0400)]
modular/shell: Start reorganizing the shell material

Mostly split the examples out into their own directories with READMEs,
but there was a lot of editing to partially convert the long-form
notes into a condensed instructor.md targeted at instructors.  I've
gotten to the pipes section and run out of steam.  Erik may be taking
over the rest of the rewrite...

7 years agoMerge branch 'cheat-sheet' into master
W. Trevor King [Thu, 24 Oct 2013 02:29:32 +0000 (19:29 -0700)]
Merge branch 'cheat-sheet' into master

* cheat-sheet: (37 commits)
  Cheatsheet based on @LJWilliams's version (PR #30) with updates to match the Guide
  Update shell_cheatsheet.md
  Update shell_cheatsheet.md
  Update shell_cheatsheet.md
  ...

7 years agoChanging 'git clone' URL in shell README to the read-only git:// URL.
Matt Davis [Mon, 13 May 2013 18:25:25 +0000 (11:25 -0700)]
Changing 'git clone' URL in shell README to the read-only git:// URL.

It had been showing the HTTPS URL but about 50% of the time that would ask
people for their usernames and passwords even though they just wanted to clone.
The read-only URL should never involve username/password stuff.

7 years agoFix shell header
Matt Davis [Wed, 8 May 2013 05:33:42 +0000 (22:33 -0700)]
Fix shell header

Made the title line into title markup and rephrased the intro title so that it make sense.

7 years agoAdded some words about the history command and bang-history # direct access.
Paul P.H. Wilson [Mon, 29 Apr 2013 11:11:43 +0000 (06:11 -0500)]
Added some words about the history command and bang-history # direct access.

7 years agoFix old typo on file size.
Paul P.H. Wilson [Mon, 29 Apr 2013 03:09:34 +0000 (22:09 -0500)]
Fix old typo on file size.

7 years agoClean up ambiguity between file and filename.
Paul P.H. Wilson [Mon, 29 Apr 2013 02:42:08 +0000 (21:42 -0500)]
Clean up ambiguity between file and filename.

7 years agoThere is no executable in the boot-camps directory - need to cd to shell dir first.
Paul P.H. Wilson [Mon, 29 Apr 2013 02:06:11 +0000 (21:06 -0500)]
There is no executable in the boot-camps directory - need to cd to shell dir first.

7 years agoremove some spaces getting in the way of bold
Paul P.H. Wilson [Fri, 26 Apr 2013 17:01:56 +0000 (12:01 -0500)]
remove some spaces getting in the way of bold

7 years agoSeem to have the tables figured out - they need a header - annoying
Paul P.H. Wilson [Fri, 26 Apr 2013 17:01:17 +0000 (12:01 -0500)]
Seem to have the tables figured out - they need a header - annoying

7 years agoCan we get some documentation on tables
Paul P.H. Wilson [Fri, 26 Apr 2013 17:00:15 +0000 (12:00 -0500)]
Can we get some documentation on tables

7 years agoA few more changes to be consistent and clear.
Paul P.H. Wilson [Fri, 26 Apr 2013 16:54:45 +0000 (11:54 -0500)]
A few more changes to be consistent and clear.

* q is for quit (mnemonics)
* tab completion seemed to have invalid examples/instructions
* made a table of less commands
* explained why less commands work in man
* redirection exercise was ambiguous: files that contain 4 in their contents, or whose names contain the number 4?
* mkdir is to 'make' a directory (mnemonics)
* combined sort exercise block

7 years agoSome formatting and flow changes:
Paul P.H. Wilson [Fri, 26 Apr 2013 16:29:14 +0000 (11:29 -0500)]
Some formatting and flow changes:

* try to bring formatting of subheadings into consistency by promoting all bolded headings to hierarchichal headings
* add Paul Wilson as author
* initial directory changing and git checkout flow was not consistent with following commands
* added excercise around man pages and ls
* added comment on mental model of directory hierarchy
* labeled exercise at end of path section
* clarified conditions under which different ls commands were equivalent

7 years agoUpdate shell/Readme.md
Doug Latornell [Sat, 16 Feb 2013 18:32:03 +0000 (10:32 -0800)]
Update shell/Readme.md

Fix markup to highlight `find` command.

7 years agoUpdate shell/Readme.md
Doug Latornell [Sat, 16 Feb 2013 18:29:10 +0000 (10:29 -0800)]
Update shell/Readme.md

Improve wording in `cp` file backup example.

7 years agoUpdate shell/Readme.md
Doug Latornell [Fri, 15 Feb 2013 21:17:06 +0000 (13:17 -0800)]
Update shell/Readme.md

Fix typo and some missing words.

7 years agoshell/Readme.md: Fix 'swsc' -> 'swc' typo
W. Trevor King [Mon, 11 Feb 2013 11:47:29 +0000 (06:47 -0500)]
shell/Readme.md: Fix 'swsc' -> 'swc' typo

7 years agoshell/Readme.md: Use USERNAME and YYYY-MM-PLACE in git clone instructions
W. Trevor King [Wed, 30 Jan 2013 11:19:12 +0000 (06:19 -0500)]
shell/Readme.md: Use USERNAME and YYYY-MM-PLACE in git clone instructions

7 years agofixed links
Katy Huff [Sat, 20 Oct 2012 13:22:04 +0000 (06:22 -0700)]
fixed links

[wtk]:
This pulled in a few workshop-specific link changes, but I cherry
picked it to get the "GUI" -> "browser" update.

7 years agoshell/Readme.md: use explicit URL (with https://)
W. Trevor King [Thu, 18 Oct 2012 18:51:18 +0000 (14:51 -0400)]
shell/Readme.md: use explicit URL (with https://)

7 years agoConversion of all rst to corresponding markdown files
Jon Pipitone [Fri, 1 Feb 2013 18:08:26 +0000 (13:08 -0500)]
Conversion of all rst to corresponding markdown files

We use git-flavoured markdown

W. Trevor King: I dropped everything from the original 4ba1cf2 except
for the shell/Readme.md modification.

7 years agoremoved references to 2013-01-chicago (those became YYYY-MM-PLACE) and thehackerwithi...
Katy Huff [Wed, 30 Jan 2013 03:39:10 +0000 (21:39 -0600)]
removed references to 2013-01-chicago (those became YYYY-MM-PLACE) and thehackerwithin (those became USERNAME).

W. Trevor King: I dropped everything from the original 87034d8 except
for the shell/Readme.md modification.

7 years agoremoving links from readmes, removed old.md, not sure what that was.
Katy Huff [Wed, 30 Jan 2013 00:30:42 +0000 (18:30 -0600)]
removing links from readmes, removed old.md, not sure what that was.

W. Trevor King: I dropped everything from the original 500753d except
for the shell/Readme.md modification.

7 years agoFix one more s,Shell-1,shell,
Jed Brown [Sat, 12 Jan 2013 15:56:25 +0000 (09:56 -0600)]
Fix one more s,Shell-1,shell,

7 years agoFix paths in shell section
Jed Brown [Sat, 12 Jan 2013 15:52:53 +0000 (09:52 -0600)]
Fix paths in shell section

7 years agofixes links in shell readme
Katy Huff [Thu, 10 Jan 2013 00:24:19 +0000 (18:24 -0600)]
fixes links in shell readme

7 years agoUpdated URL
rkhetani [Tue, 8 Jan 2013 23:51:35 +0000 (17:51 -0600)]
Updated URL

7 years agoUpdated URL
rkhetani [Tue, 8 Jan 2013 23:49:45 +0000 (17:49 -0600)]
Updated URL

7 years agoUpdated URL
rkhetani [Tue, 8 Jan 2013 23:47:30 +0000 (17:47 -0600)]
Updated URL

7 years agoUpdated for Jan12th bootcamp
rkhetani [Tue, 8 Jan 2013 23:10:30 +0000 (17:10 -0600)]
Updated for Jan12th bootcamp

7 years ago moved a lot of files to folders that will mesh with the directory structure intended...
Katy Huff [Sun, 16 Dec 2012 17:53:31 +0000 (11:53 -0600)]
 moved a lot of files to folders that will mesh with the directory structure intended for the master branch, in case we merge this in. A bunch of things still need to be done. The software engineering section isn't completely moved and the readmes are still in rst rather than md.

W. Trevor King: I removed everything from the original 00149bc except
the 1-Shell -> shell move.

7 years agoFixed github URL.
Joshua R Smith [Mon, 18 Jun 2012 14:41:14 +0000 (10:41 -0400)]
Fixed github URL.

7 years agoUpdated shell tutorial to reflect new VM. Also minor
Sasha Wood [Sun, 17 Jun 2012 02:16:51 +0000 (22:16 -0400)]
Updated shell tutorial to reflect new VM.  Also minor
edits for clarity.  Added reference to xargs, command
history.

7 years agoCorrected git command
Sasha Wood [Tue, 12 Jun 2012 00:40:56 +0000 (20:40 -0400)]
Corrected git command

7 years agoModified 1-Shell to use swc in place of thw and \nSWC-bootcamp in place of UofCSCBC20...
Sasha Wood [Sun, 10 Jun 2012 01:41:30 +0000 (21:41 -0400)]
Modified 1-Shell to use swc in place of thw and \nSWC-bootcamp in place of UofCSCBC2012 so as to have correct org and repo name.

7 years agoChanged presenter name
Sasha Wood [Sun, 10 Jun 2012 01:02:39 +0000 (21:02 -0400)]
Changed presenter name

7 years agoDone with the shell tutorial...at last
Milad Fatenejad [Mon, 2 Apr 2012 04:50:00 +0000 (23:50 -0500)]
Done with the shell tutorial...at last

7 years agoMore updates to shell tutorial
Milad Fatenejad [Mon, 2 Apr 2012 04:04:50 +0000 (23:04 -0500)]
More updates to shell tutorial

7 years agoMore updates to shell tutorial
Milad Fatenejad [Sun, 1 Apr 2012 23:04:22 +0000 (18:04 -0500)]
More updates to shell tutorial

7 years agoMore updates to shell tutorial
Milad Fatenejad [Sun, 1 Apr 2012 21:49:15 +0000 (16:49 -0500)]
More updates to shell tutorial

7 years agoAdded more to shell tutorial. Also added a hello world program
Milad Fatenejad [Sun, 1 Apr 2012 21:09:31 +0000 (16:09 -0500)]
Added more to shell tutorial. Also added a hello world program

7 years agoMore updates
Milad Fatenejad [Sun, 1 Apr 2012 18:54:32 +0000 (13:54 -0500)]
More updates

7 years agoAdded a bunch of new text to shell tutorial
Milad Fatenejad [Sun, 1 Apr 2012 17:04:19 +0000 (12:04 -0500)]
Added a bunch of new text to shell tutorial

7 years agoMore updates to shell section. Added first exercise!
Milad Fatenejad [Sun, 1 Apr 2012 04:08:54 +0000 (23:08 -0500)]
More updates to shell section. Added first exercise!

7 years agoMore updates to shell section
Milad Fatenejad [Sun, 1 Apr 2012 03:43:34 +0000 (22:43 -0500)]
More updates to shell section

7 years agoExperimenting...
Milad Fatenejad [Sun, 1 Apr 2012 02:53:39 +0000 (21:53 -0500)]
Experimenting...

7 years agoMore updates to the shell section
Milad Fatenejad [Sun, 1 Apr 2012 02:46:01 +0000 (21:46 -0500)]
More updates to the shell section

7 years agoStarted just directly editing the Readme.md file
Milad Fatenejad [Sun, 1 Apr 2012 02:23:25 +0000 (21:23 -0500)]
Started just directly editing the Readme.md file

7 years agoTesting to make sure I can use lists correctly
Milad Fatenejad [Sun, 1 Apr 2012 02:09:58 +0000 (21:09 -0500)]
Testing to make sure I can use lists correctly

7 years agoMore updates
Milad Fatenejad [Sun, 1 Apr 2012 02:01:24 +0000 (21:01 -0500)]
More updates

7 years agoMore updates to shell section
Milad Fatenejad [Sun, 1 Apr 2012 02:01:08 +0000 (21:01 -0500)]
More updates to shell section

7 years agoUpdated shell section
Milad Fatenejad [Sun, 1 Apr 2012 01:56:35 +0000 (20:56 -0500)]
Updated shell section

7 years agoAdded acknowledgement
Milad Fatenejad [Sun, 1 Apr 2012 01:46:37 +0000 (20:46 -0500)]
Added acknowledgement

7 years agoAdded associated markdown files.
Anthony Scopatz [Wed, 21 Mar 2012 02:57:01 +0000 (21:57 -0500)]
Added associated markdown files.

W. Trevor King: I removed everything from the original 7d32d4e except
the 1-Shell/Readme.md addition.

7 years agoadded lunch, schedule, etc.
Katy Huff [Tue, 20 Mar 2012 16:04:28 +0000 (11:04 -0500)]
added lunch, schedule, etc.

W. Trevor King: I dropped everything from the original 47faad7 except
for the 1-Shell/Readme.rst addition.

7 years agoCheatsheet based on @LJWilliams's version (PR #30) with updates to match the Guide
Jon Pipitone [Mon, 8 Apr 2013 18:32:28 +0000 (14:32 -0400)]
Cheatsheet based on @LJWilliams's version (PR #30) with updates to match the Guide

7 years agoUpdate shell_cheatsheet.md
Lynne Williams [Sun, 17 Feb 2013 17:37:36 +0000 (12:37 -0500)]
Update shell_cheatsheet.md

7 years agoUpdate shell_cheatsheet.md
Lynne Williams [Sun, 17 Feb 2013 17:32:23 +0000 (12:32 -0500)]
Update shell_cheatsheet.md

7 years agoUpdate shell_cheatsheet.md
Lynne Williams [Sun, 17 Feb 2013 17:29:37 +0000 (12:29 -0500)]
Update shell_cheatsheet.md

7 years agoUpdate shell_cheatsheet.md
Lynne Williams [Sun, 17 Feb 2013 17:28:37 +0000 (12:28 -0500)]
Update shell_cheatsheet.md

7 years agoUpdate shell_cheatsheet.md
Lynne Williams [Sun, 17 Feb 2013 17:26:36 +0000 (12:26 -0500)]
Update shell_cheatsheet.md

7 years agoUpdate shell_cheatsheet.md
Lynne Williams [Sun, 17 Feb 2013 17:15:36 +0000 (12:15 -0500)]
Update shell_cheatsheet.md

7 years agoUpdate shell_cheatsheet.md
Lynne Williams [Sun, 17 Feb 2013 17:11:24 +0000 (12:11 -0500)]
Update shell_cheatsheet.md

7 years agoUpdate shell_cheatsheet.md
Lynne Williams [Sun, 17 Feb 2013 17:08:47 +0000 (12:08 -0500)]
Update shell_cheatsheet.md

7 years agoUpdate shell_cheatsheet.md
Lynne Williams [Sun, 17 Feb 2013 17:06:39 +0000 (12:06 -0500)]
Update shell_cheatsheet.md

7 years agoUpdate shell_cheatsheet.md
Lynne Williams [Sun, 17 Feb 2013 17:02:42 +0000 (12:02 -0500)]
Update shell_cheatsheet.md

7 years agoUpdate shell_cheatsheet.md
Lynne Williams [Sun, 17 Feb 2013 16:54:03 +0000 (11:54 -0500)]
Update shell_cheatsheet.md

7 years agoUpdate shell_cheatsheet.md
Lynne Williams [Sun, 17 Feb 2013 16:44:38 +0000 (11:44 -0500)]
Update shell_cheatsheet.md

7 years agoUpdate shell_cheatsheet.md
Lynne Williams [Sun, 17 Feb 2013 16:40:45 +0000 (11:40 -0500)]
Update shell_cheatsheet.md

7 years agoUpdate shell_cheatsheet.md
Lynne Williams [Sun, 17 Feb 2013 16:39:23 +0000 (11:39 -0500)]
Update shell_cheatsheet.md

7 years agoUpdate shell_cheatsheet.md
Lynne Williams [Sun, 17 Feb 2013 16:34:40 +0000 (11:34 -0500)]
Update shell_cheatsheet.md

7 years agoUpdate shell_cheatsheet.md
Lynne Williams [Sun, 17 Feb 2013 16:31:11 +0000 (11:31 -0500)]
Update shell_cheatsheet.md

7 years agoUpdate shell_cheatsheet.md
Lynne Williams [Sun, 17 Feb 2013 16:28:15 +0000 (11:28 -0500)]
Update shell_cheatsheet.md

7 years agoUpdate shell_cheatsheet.md
Lynne Williams [Sun, 17 Feb 2013 16:27:19 +0000 (11:27 -0500)]
Update shell_cheatsheet.md

7 years agoUpdate shell_cheatsheet.md
Lynne Williams [Sun, 17 Feb 2013 16:25:41 +0000 (11:25 -0500)]
Update shell_cheatsheet.md

7 years agoUpdate shell_cheatsheet.md
Lynne Williams [Sun, 17 Feb 2013 16:24:37 +0000 (11:24 -0500)]
Update shell_cheatsheet.md

7 years agoUpdate shell_cheatsheet.md
Lynne Williams [Sun, 17 Feb 2013 16:23:03 +0000 (11:23 -0500)]
Update shell_cheatsheet.md

7 years agoUpdate shell_cheatsheet.md
Lynne Williams [Sun, 17 Feb 2013 16:14:09 +0000 (11:14 -0500)]
Update shell_cheatsheet.md

7 years agoUpdate shell_cheatsheet.md
Lynne Williams [Sun, 17 Feb 2013 16:12:09 +0000 (11:12 -0500)]
Update shell_cheatsheet.md

7 years agoUpdate shell_cheatsheet.md
Lynne Williams [Sun, 17 Feb 2013 16:06:48 +0000 (11:06 -0500)]
Update shell_cheatsheet.md

7 years agoUpdate shell_cheatsheet.md
Lynne Williams [Sun, 17 Feb 2013 16:02:57 +0000 (11:02 -0500)]
Update shell_cheatsheet.md

7 years agoUpdate shell_cheatsheet.md
Lynne Williams [Sun, 17 Feb 2013 15:56:17 +0000 (10:56 -0500)]
Update shell_cheatsheet.md

7 years agoUpdate shell_cheatsheet.md
Lynne Williams [Sun, 17 Feb 2013 15:51:19 +0000 (10:51 -0500)]
Update shell_cheatsheet.md

7 years agoUpdate shell_cheatsheet.md
Lynne Williams [Sun, 17 Feb 2013 15:49:52 +0000 (10:49 -0500)]
Update shell_cheatsheet.md

7 years agoUpdate shell_cheatsheet.md
Lynne Williams [Sun, 17 Feb 2013 15:36:32 +0000 (10:36 -0500)]
Update shell_cheatsheet.md

7 years agoUpdate shell_cheatsheet.md
Lynne Williams [Sun, 17 Feb 2013 15:33:17 +0000 (10:33 -0500)]
Update shell_cheatsheet.md

7 years agoUpdate shell_cheatsheet.md
Lynne Williams [Sun, 17 Feb 2013 15:30:47 +0000 (10:30 -0500)]
Update shell_cheatsheet.md

7 years agoUpdate shell_cheatsheet.md
Lynne Williams [Sun, 17 Feb 2013 15:24:40 +0000 (10:24 -0500)]
Update shell_cheatsheet.md

7 years agoUpdate shell_cheatsheet.md
Lynne Williams [Sun, 17 Feb 2013 15:23:44 +0000 (10:23 -0500)]
Update shell_cheatsheet.md

7 years agoUpdate shell_cheatsheet.md
Lynne Williams [Sun, 17 Feb 2013 15:22:01 +0000 (10:22 -0500)]
Update shell_cheatsheet.md

7 years agoUpdate shell_cheatsheet.md
Lynne Williams [Sun, 17 Feb 2013 15:14:51 +0000 (10:14 -0500)]
Update shell_cheatsheet.md

7 years agoAdding shell_cheatsheet.md and shell_outline.md to my fork of the SWC boot-camps...
Lynne J. Williams [Mon, 31 Dec 2012 15:00:06 +0000 (10:00 -0500)]
Adding shell_cheatsheet.md and shell_outline.md to my fork of the SWC boot-camps repo