signed-off-by.git
2 years agoREADME: Suggest signoffs for merge commits master
W. Trevor King [Wed, 11 Oct 2017 18:46:08 +0000 (11:46 -0700)]
README: Suggest signoffs for merge commits

Git's 'pull' doesn't currently support --signoff, although 'merge'
does since 14d01b4f (merge: add a --signoff flag, 2017-07-04,
v2.15.0-rc0 [1]).

[1]: https://github.com/git/git/commit/14d01b4f07a08ee55bffc74f2d6e1b0a4e8ce900

Signed-off-by: W. Trevor King <wking@tremily.us>
2 years agoREADME: Use pull and add --allow-unrelated-histories
W. Trevor King [Wed, 11 Oct 2017 18:29:53 +0000 (11:29 -0700)]
README: Use pull and add --allow-unrelated-histories

Using pull gets us down to a single command, leaves no local remote,
and results in a more-descriptive commit message:

  Merge branch 'signed-off-by' of git://tremily.us/signed-off-by

vs. the old:

  Merge branch 'signed-off-by' of s-o-b

--allow-unrelated-histories is required for this sort of thing since
e379fdf3 (merge: refuse to create too cool a merge by default,
2016-03-18, v2.9.0 [1]) and 09c2cb87 (pull: pass
--allow-unrelated-histories to "git merge", 2016-03-18, v2.9.0 [2]).

[1]: https://github.com/git/git/commit/e379fdf34fee96cd205be83ff4e71699bdc32b18
[2]: https://github.com/git/git/commit/09c2cb877a9cc0f6f25eac8d43663f4e8f3309a4

Signed-off-by: W. Trevor King <wking@tremily.us>
2 years agoMerge branch 'signed-off-by' into HEAD
W. Trevor King [Wed, 11 Oct 2017 18:44:29 +0000 (11:44 -0700)]
Merge branch 'signed-off-by' into HEAD

* signed-off-by:
  developer-certificate-of-origin: Update LF address

Signed-off-by: W. Trevor King <wking@tremily.us>
2 years agoMerge branch 'dco' into signed-off-by signed-off-by
W. Trevor King [Wed, 11 Oct 2017 18:11:53 +0000 (11:11 -0700)]
Merge branch 'dco' into signed-off-by

* dco:
  developer-certificate-of-origin: Update LF address

Signed-off-by: W. Trevor King <wking@tremily.us>
2 years agoREADME: Fix "CC0-1.0.1" -> "CC0-1.0" typo
W. Trevor King [Wed, 11 Oct 2017 18:09:05 +0000 (11:09 -0700)]
README: Fix "CC0-1.0.1" -> "CC0-1.0" typo

Fixing a typo from 327fdb77 (README: document repository branches
(roles and contents), 2012-11-26).

Signed-off-by: W. Trevor King <wking@tremily.us>
2 years agodeveloper-certificate-of-origin: Update LF address dco
W. Trevor King [Wed, 11 Oct 2017 18:04:31 +0000 (11:04 -0700)]
developer-certificate-of-origin: Update LF address

By pulling a fresh copy.  Also, developercertificate.org now support
TLS :)

  $ wget -S -O developer-certificate-of-origin https://developercertificate.org/
  --2017-10-11 11:03:49--  https://developercertificate.org/
  Resolving developercertificate.org... 140.211.169.4
  Connecting to developercertificate.org|140.211.169.4|:443... connected.
  HTTP request sent, awaiting response...
    HTTP/1.1 200 OK
    Server: nginx
    Date: Wed, 11 Oct 2017 18:01:49 GMT
    Content-Type: text/html; charset=UTF-8
    Content-Length: 1732
    Connection: keep-alive
    Vary: Accept-Encoding
    Last-Modified: Thu, 30 Jun 2016 17:31:34 GMT
    ETag: "5c2e43-6c4-536823dd5ef81"
    Strict-Transport-Security: max-age=16070400
    Accept-Ranges: bytes
  Length: 1732 (1.7K) [text/html]
  Saving to: ‘developer-certificate-of-origin’
  ...

After which I stripped out the HTML, leaving just the DCO text.

Signed-off-by: W. Trevor King <wking@tremily.us>
5 years agoREADME: Fix 'incorperate' and 'Includes' typos
W. Trevor King [Fri, 24 Jan 2014 23:33:51 +0000 (15:33 -0800)]
README: Fix 'incorperate' and 'Includes' typos

Found with aspell.

Signed-off-by: W. Trevor King <wking@tremily.us>
5 years agoREADME: Document the new developer-certificate-of-origin file
W. Trevor King [Fri, 24 Jan 2014 23:24:22 +0000 (15:24 -0800)]
README: Document the new developer-certificate-of-origin file

Signed-off-by: W. Trevor King <wking@tremily.us>
5 years agoMerge branch 'signed-off-by'
W. Trevor King [Fri, 24 Jan 2014 23:59:50 +0000 (15:59 -0800)]
Merge branch 'signed-off-by'

* signed-off-by:
  Documentation/SubmittingPatches: Reference external DCO
  Documentation/developer-certificate-of-origin: Move the DCO into place
  developer-certificate-of-origin: Add v1.1 from the Linux Foundation

Signed-off-by: W. Trevor King <wking@tremily.us>
5 years agoDocumentation/SubmittingPatches: Reference external DCO
W. Trevor King [Fri, 24 Jan 2014 23:06:11 +0000 (15:06 -0800)]
Documentation/SubmittingPatches: Reference external DCO

The new developer-certificate-of-origin text is copied directly from
developercertificate.org [1] into a stand-alone file to avoid
confusion with the separately-licensed supporting text in
SubmittingPatches (following the example of stand-alone license files
like COPYING).  SubmittingPatches now references that file when
explaining the significance of Signed-off-by tags.

My changes to SubmittingPatches are licensed under both the Creative
Commons CC0 1.0 Universal license (see the `license` branch for full
text) and the GPLv2-linux (see the `copying` branch for full text), as
are my previous contributions to SubmittingPatches.  Pick whichever
one works best for you.

[1]: http://developercertificate.org/

Signed-off-by: W. Trevor King <wking@tremily.us>
5 years agoDocumentation/developer-certificate-of-origin: Move the DCO into place
W. Trevor King [Fri, 24 Jan 2014 23:51:36 +0000 (15:51 -0800)]
Documentation/developer-certificate-of-origin: Move the DCO into place

Signed-off-by: W. Trevor King <wking@tremily.us>
5 years agoMerge branch 'dco' into signed-off-by
W. Trevor King [Fri, 24 Jan 2014 23:57:19 +0000 (15:57 -0800)]
Merge branch 'dco' into signed-off-by

* dco:
  developer-certificate-of-origin: Add v1.1 from the Linux Foundation

Signed-off-by: W. Trevor King <wking@tremily.us>
5 years agodeveloper-certificate-of-origin: Add v1.1 from the Linux Foundation
W. Trevor King [Fri, 24 Jan 2014 23:46:30 +0000 (15:46 -0800)]
developer-certificate-of-origin: Add v1.1 from the Linux Foundation

Luis R. Rodriguez [1] has been trying to get information about the
licensing of the Linux kernel's DCO [2] for a while now [3,4], and it
looks like the Linux Foundation just made their view explicit [5,6,7].
This clarifies the copyright and licensing of Linus' two patches:

857a183 Update DCO ("signoff") rules to 1.1
991bd2e Start documenting the sign-off procedure in SubmittingPatches

From the whois information, developercertificate.org is pretty recent:

  $ whois developercertificate.org
  Domain Name: DEVELOPERCERTIFICATE.ORG
  Domain ID: D170689185-LROR
  Creation Date: 2014-01-15T02:54:55Z
  Updated Date: 2014-01-17T22:11:12Z
  ...
  Name Server: NS2.LINUX-FOUNDATION.ORG
  Name Server: NS1.LINUX-FOUNDATION.ORG

Now that this has an upstream source and it's own license (verbatim
copies only), I'm putting this file in its own branch.  Downloaded
just now:

  $ wget -S -O developer-certificate-of-origin http://developercertificate.org/
  --2014-01-24 15:46:21--  http://developercertificate.org/
  Resolving developercertificate.org... 140.211.169.4
  Connecting to developercertificate.org|140.211.169.4|:80... connected.
  HTTP request sent, awaiting response...
    HTTP/1.1 200 OK
    Server: nginx
    Date: Fri, 24 Jan 2014 23:46:58 GMT
    Content-Type: text/html; charset=UTF-8
    Connection: keep-alive
    Last-Modified: Fri, 17 Jan 2014 23:02:25 GMT
    ETag: "5c188d-6c5-4f0328910e8f0"
    Accept-Ranges: bytes
    Content-Length: 1733
  Length: 1733 (1.7K) [text/html]
  Saving to: ‘developer-certificate-of-origin’

  2014-01-24 15:46:21 (112 MB/s) - ‘developer-certificate-of-origin’ saved [1733/1733]

After which I stripped out the HTML, leaving just the DCO text.

[1]: http://www.do-not-panic.com/
[2]: https://www.kernel.org/doc/Documentation/SubmittingPatches
[3]: http://thread.gmane.org/gmane.linux.kernel/1397613
[4]: http://thread.gmane.org/gmane.linux.kernel/1492612
[5]: http://article.gmane.org/gmane.linux.kernel.wireless.general/118696
[6]: http://article.gmane.org/gmane.linux.kernel/1635433
[7]: http://developercertificate.org/

Signed-off-by: W. Trevor King <wking@tremily.us>
6 years agoREADME: suggest fetching the remote before merging a branch
W. Trevor King [Sat, 8 Dec 2012 15:54:41 +0000 (10:54 -0500)]
README: suggest fetching the remote before merging a branch

Signed-off-by: W. Trevor King <wking@tremily.us>
6 years agoREADME: document the contributing-github branch
W. Trevor King [Sat, 8 Dec 2012 15:47:51 +0000 (10:47 -0500)]
README: document the contributing-github branch

Signed-off-by: W. Trevor King <wking@tremily.us>
6 years agoREADME: explicitly show how to fetch note references
W. Trevor King [Sat, 8 Dec 2012 15:20:49 +0000 (10:20 -0500)]
README: explicitly show how to fetch note references

Tweaking fetch references may not be a particularly common activity.

Signed-off-by: W. Trevor King <wking@tremily.us>
6 years agoREADME: document borrowed commits and original-repo notes
W. Trevor King [Mon, 26 Nov 2012 16:02:35 +0000 (11:02 -0500)]
README: document borrowed commits and original-repo notes

Signed-off-by: W. Trevor King <wking@tremily.us>
6 years agoREADME: document repository branches (roles and contents)
W. Trevor King [Mon, 26 Nov 2012 15:55:03 +0000 (10:55 -0500)]
README: document repository branches (roles and contents)

Signed-off-by: W. Trevor King <wking@tremily.us>
6 years agoDocumentation/SubmittingPatches: merge branch 'signed-off-by'
W. Trevor King [Mon, 26 Nov 2012 15:37:19 +0000 (10:37 -0500)]
Documentation/SubmittingPatches: merge branch 'signed-off-by'

Take my own medicine and merge the signed-off-by branch into the
master.

Signed-off-by: W. Trevor King <wking@tremily.us>
6 years agoCOPYING: merge GPLv2= from the 'copying' branch
W. Trevor King [Mon, 26 Nov 2012 15:36:06 +0000 (10:36 -0500)]
COPYING: merge GPLv2= from the 'copying' branch

Signed-off-by: W. Trevor King <wking@tremily.us>
6 years agoREADME: add sales pitch and usage instructions
W. Trevor King [Mon, 26 Nov 2012 13:51:12 +0000 (08:51 -0500)]
README: add sales pitch and usage instructions

To avoid licensing issues with this README file itself, I'm releasing
it under the Creative Commons CC0 1.0 Universal license (see the
`license` branch for full text).

Signed-off-by: W. Trevor King <wking@tremily.us>
6 years agoUpdate COPYING with GPLv2 with new FSF address copying
Junio C Hamano [Sat, 16 Jan 2010 05:38:34 +0000 (21:38 -0800)]
Update COPYING with GPLv2 with new FSF address

The mailing address of FSF changed quite a while ago.  Also the expansion
of the acronym LGPL (which we don't use) is "Lesser GPL" not "Library GPL"
these days in recent copies of GPLv2.  Update the copy we have with a
fresh download of <http://www.gnu.org/licenses/gpl-2.0.txt>.

This incidentally removes form-feeds in the text we retained for all these
years.

Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
6 years agoAdd a COPYING notice, making it explicit that the license is GPLv2.
Linus Torvalds [Mon, 11 Apr 2005 17:18:16 +0000 (10:18 -0700)]
Add a COPYING notice, making it explicit that the license is GPLv2.

Let's bite the v3 bullet when it comes, although if people want to,
they can just state "or later at discretion of Linus" in their copyright
messages.

6 years agoSubmittingPatches: adjust content to be project-agnostic
W. Trevor King [Sat, 24 Nov 2012 19:18:43 +0000 (14:18 -0500)]
SubmittingPatches: adjust content to be project-agnostic

Remove kernel-specific stuff (e.g. maintainers, emailed-patches) and
consolidate things that were treated differently in the kernel and git
versions (e.g. pseudonyms).

The slight-modification paragraph is mostly unchanged.  I just removed
the branch/subsystem maintainer leader and re-wrapped the paragraph.

Signed-off-by: W. Trevor King <wking@tremily.us>
6 years agoSubmittingPatches: replace tabs with spaces and normalize DCO indent
W. Trevor King [Sat, 24 Nov 2012 19:16:41 +0000 (14:16 -0500)]
SubmittingPatches: replace tabs with spaces and normalize DCO indent

I replaced each tab with two spaces.  No need for excessive 8-space
indents.

Signed-off-by: W. Trevor King <wking@tremily.us>
6 years agoremove doubled words, e.g., s/to to/to/, and fix related typos
Jim Meyering [Wed, 13 Apr 2011 15:39:40 +0000 (17:39 +0200)]
remove doubled words, e.g., s/to to/to/, and fix related typos

I found that some doubled words had snuck back into projects from which
I'd already removed them, so now there's a "syntax-check" makefile rule in
gnulib to help prevent recurrence.

Running the command below spotted a few in git, too:

  git ls-files | xargs perl -0777 -n \
    -e 'while (/\b(then?|[iao]n|i[fst]|but|f?or|at|and|[dt])\s+\1\b/gims)' \
    -e '{$n=($` =~ tr/\n/\n/ + 1); ($v=$&)=~s/\n/\\n/g;' \
    -e 'print "$ARGV:$n:$v\n"}'

Signed-off-by: Jim Meyering <meyering@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
[wking@tremily.us: only apply SubmittingPatches portion of the
original patch since I'm pulling out only the D-C-O portion of
SubmittingPatches]
Signed-off-by: W. Trevor King <wking@tremily.us>
6 years agoSubmittingPatches: Document some extra tags used in commit messages
Ramkumar Ramachandra [Sat, 2 Oct 2010 04:37:43 +0000 (10:07 +0530)]
SubmittingPatches: Document some extra tags used in commit messages

Document the meanings of the tags "Reported-by:", "Acked-by:",
"Reviewed-by:" and "Tested-by:" clearly. Also mention that the user is
free to use any custom tags.

Helped-by: Jonathan Nieder <jrnieder@gmail.com>
Liked-by: Sverre Rabbelier <srabbelier@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Ramkumar Ramachandra <artagnon@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
[wking@tremily.us: removed diff context to merge with Linux kernel
version]
Signed-off-by: W. Trevor King <wking@tremily.us>
6 years agoSubmittingPatches: mention the usage of real name in Signed-off-by: lines
Miklos Vajna [Sat, 20 Dec 2008 00:52:17 +0000 (01:52 +0100)]
SubmittingPatches: mention the usage of real name in Signed-off-by: lines

Especially with something that is supposed to hopefully have some legal
value down the line if somebody starts making noises, it really would be
nice to have a real person to associate things with. Suggest this in the
SubmittingPatches document.

Signed-off-by: Miklos Vajna <vmiklos@frugalware.org>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
6 years agoDocumentation/SubmittingPatches: What's Acked-by and Tested-by?
Junio C Hamano [Mon, 4 Feb 2008 01:02:28 +0000 (17:02 -0800)]
Documentation/SubmittingPatches: What's Acked-by and Tested-by?

We used to talk about "internal company procedures", but this
document is about submitting patches to the git mailing list.

More useful information is when to say Acked-by: and Tested-by:.

Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
[wking@tremily.us: removed diff context to merge with Linux kernel
version]
Signed-off-by: W. Trevor King <wking@tremily.us>
6 years agoTeach SubmittingPatches about git-commit -s
Paolo Ciarrocchi [Tue, 21 Nov 2006 18:55:20 +0000 (19:55 +0100)]
Teach SubmittingPatches about git-commit -s

As discussed on git mailing list let's teach the reader about
the possiblity to have automatically signed off the commit running
the git-commit -s command

Signed-off-by: Paolo Ciarrocchi <paolo.ciarrocchi@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <junkio@cox.net>
[wking@tremily.us: removed diff context to merge with Linux kernel
version]
Signed-off-by: W. Trevor King <wking@tremily.us>
6 years agoDocumentation: fix spelling error in SubmittingPatches
Zac Storer [Sat, 13 Aug 2011 19:34:45 +0000 (12:34 -0700)]
Documentation: fix spelling error in SubmittingPatches

Fixed a spelling error.

Signed-off-by: Zac Storer <zac.3.14159@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@xenotime.net>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
6 years agodoc: add suggestions about good practises for maintainers
Willy Tarreau [Mon, 2 Jun 2008 22:20:28 +0000 (00:20 +0200)]
doc: add suggestions about good practises for maintainers

Suggest how to deal with patch modifications caused by
merging or back-porting when you're a maintainer.

Signed-off-by: Willy Tarreau <w@1wt.eu>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
[wking@tremily.us: removed diff context since I'm pulling out only the
D-C-O portion of SubmittingPatches]
Signed-off-by: W. Trevor King <wking@tremily.us>
6 years agoWe can not allow anonymous contributions to the kernel
Greg KH [Wed, 13 Sep 2006 03:35:52 +0000 (20:35 -0700)]
We can not allow anonymous contributions to the kernel

The DCO does not mean anything if we allow anonymous contributors to the
kernel.  As this is an open source project, we need to do everything in the
open.

Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>
6 years agoDCO: use IANA-reserved second level domain name
Alexey Dobriyan [Sat, 25 Jun 2005 21:59:34 +0000 (14:59 -0700)]
DCO: use IANA-reserved second level domain name

Signed-off-by: Alexey Dobriyan <adobriyan@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Domen Puncer <domen@coderock.org>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>
6 years agoUpdate DCO ("signoff") rules to 1.1
Linus Torvalds [Tue, 14 Jun 2005 00:51:55 +0000 (17:51 -0700)]
Update DCO ("signoff") rules to 1.1

This adds a clause that notes explicitly that the person doing the
sign-off knows that the project (and his sign-off) is public and will
possibly get archived and re-distributed.

6 years agoStart documenting the sign-off procedure in SubmittingPatches
Linus Torvalds [Tue, 1 Jun 2004 05:13:52 +0000 (22:13 -0700)]
Start documenting the sign-off procedure in SubmittingPatches

We already have over 200 sign-off lines in the kernel, so
let's document the thing, even if discussion may still be
on-going.

[wking@tremily.us: removed diff context since I'm pulling out only the
D-C-O portion of SubmittingPatches]
Signed-off-by: W. Trevor King <wking@tremily.us>