parallel_computing.git
8 years agoplot_image.py: use modern print() syntax everywhere master
W. Trevor King [Fri, 26 Oct 2012 18:45:11 +0000 (14:45 -0400)]
plot_image.py: use modern print() syntax everywhere

8 years agoplot_image.py: add positional argument specifiers to .format() calls
W. Trevor King [Fri, 26 Oct 2012 18:32:57 +0000 (14:32 -0400)]
plot_image.py: add positional argument specifiers to .format() calls

For backwards compatibility with Python 2.6.

8 years agoplot_image.py: use modern print() syntax
W. Trevor King [Fri, 26 Oct 2012 18:29:33 +0000 (14:29 -0400)]
plot_image.py: use modern print() syntax

9 years agocontent:MPI2: cleanup hostfile syntax description.
W. Trevor King [Thu, 27 Sep 2012 11:18:59 +0000 (07:18 -0400)]
content:MPI2: cleanup hostfile syntax description.

9 years agoPrint the number of steps read in by plot_image.py (for sanity checks).
W. Trevor King [Thu, 23 Feb 2012 20:05:57 +0000 (15:05 -0500)]
Print the number of steps read in by plot_image.py (for sanity checks).

9 years agoUpdate plot_image.py's interpolation extraction for Matplotlib 0.91.2.
W. Trevor King [Fri, 27 Jan 2012 19:02:21 +0000 (14:02 -0500)]
Update plot_image.py's interpolation extraction for Matplotlib 0.91.2.

I'd written it for v1.0.1, but the department server is still running
0.91.2, which only sets the interpolation dictionary for AxesImage
instances (not for the class itself).

9 years agoAdd --interpolation option to plot_image.py.
W. Trevor King [Sat, 21 Jan 2012 19:17:12 +0000 (14:17 -0500)]
Add --interpolation option to plot_image.py.

9 years agoRemove pylab.ion() from plot_image.py's main().
W. Trevor King [Sat, 21 Jan 2012 18:53:14 +0000 (13:53 -0500)]
Remove pylab.ion() from plot_image.py's main().

When pylab is in interactive mode, showing the figures does not halt
script exectution.  This means that the script will likely complete
before the user has time to appreciate the figure (unless the are
*really* fast ;)).

Also use figure/axes methods where possible (instead of pylab.axes,
etc.).  It's cleaner that way ;).

9 years agoFix XYZ.shape() -> XYZ.shape typo in plot_image.py's read_data_3d.
W. Trevor King [Sat, 21 Jan 2012 18:43:24 +0000 (13:43 -0500)]
Fix XYZ.shape() -> XYZ.shape typo in plot_image.py's read_data_3d.

9 years agoAdd --xyz option to plot_image.py for reading in (x,y,z) tuples.
W. Trevor King [Sat, 21 Jan 2012 18:36:27 +0000 (13:36 -0500)]
Add --xyz option to plot_image.py for reading in (x,y,z) tuples.

9 years agoNo need to use mpicc to compile the plot_image examples. Use gcc instead.
W. Trevor King [Sat, 21 Jan 2012 17:41:22 +0000 (12:41 -0500)]
No need to use mpicc to compile the plot_image examples.  Use gcc instead.

This requires linking libm explicitly to define `sin` and `cos`.

10 years agoCorrect mpiboot -> mpdboot typo
W. Trevor King [Fri, 1 Apr 2011 01:57:39 +0000 (21:57 -0400)]
Correct mpiboot -> mpdboot typo

10 years agoFix explanation of mpd program.
W. Trevor King [Fri, 1 Apr 2011 01:55:47 +0000 (21:55 -0400)]
Fix explanation of mpd program.

10 years agoAdd pointer from resources to CUDA references in the main content.
W. Trevor King [Thu, 25 Nov 2010 16:15:03 +0000 (11:15 -0500)]
Add pointer from resources to CUDA references in the main content.

10 years agoAdd .cu to text/plain types in src/*_cuda/.htaccess.
W. Trevor King [Thu, 25 Nov 2010 16:09:58 +0000 (11:09 -0500)]
Add .cu to text/plain types in src/*_cuda/.htaccess.

10 years agoFix matmul_skeleton.cu link.
W. Trevor King [Thu, 25 Nov 2010 16:08:10 +0000 (11:08 -0500)]
Fix matmul_skeleton.cu link.

10 years agoMerge remote branch 'origin/master'
W. Trevor King [Thu, 25 Nov 2010 16:05:39 +0000 (11:05 -0500)]
Merge remote branch 'origin/master'

10 years agoBring in this Fall's assigment 7 (from last year's logistic map assigment).
W. Trevor King [Thu, 25 Nov 2010 16:04:56 +0000 (11:04 -0500)]
Bring in this Fall's assigment 7 (from last year's logistic map assigment).

10 years agoAdd CUDA by Example examples.
W. Trevor King [Thu, 25 Nov 2010 16:01:10 +0000 (11:01 -0500)]
Add CUDA by Example examples.

10 years agoAdd CUDA SDK link and point to borg3 local copies.
W. Trevor King [Thu, 25 Nov 2010 15:44:31 +0000 (10:44 -0500)]
Add CUDA SDK link and point to borg3 local copies.

10 years agoUpdate GPU Gems 3 link.
W. Trevor King [Thu, 25 Nov 2010 15:36:20 +0000 (10:36 -0500)]
Update GPU Gems 3 link.

10 years agoUpdate CUDA reference doc links.
W. Trevor King [Thu, 25 Nov 2010 15:31:33 +0000 (10:31 -0500)]
Update CUDA reference doc links.

10 years agoMerge remote branch 'borg/master'
W. Trevor King [Fri, 12 Nov 2010 17:40:38 +0000 (12:40 -0500)]
Merge remote branch 'borg/master'

10 years agoMerge branch 'master' of http://einstein/~wking/code/git/parallel_computing
W. Trevor King [Fri, 12 Nov 2010 17:36:57 +0000 (09:36 -0800)]
Merge branch 'master' of einstein/~wking/code/git/parallel_computing

10 years agoDocument raster direction in plot_image.py.
W. Trevor King [Tue, 9 Nov 2010 18:22:53 +0000 (13:22 -0500)]
Document raster direction in plot_image.py.

10 years agoOops, possion_2d -> poisson_2d.
W. Trevor King [Tue, 9 Nov 2010 16:34:46 +0000 (11:34 -0500)]
Oops, possion_2d -> poisson_2d.

10 years agoOops, poisson_2d.c is in src/poisson_2d/, not src/poisson/.
W. Trevor King [Tue, 9 Nov 2010 16:32:28 +0000 (11:32 -0500)]
Oops, poisson_2d.c is in src/poisson_2d/, not src/poisson/.

10 years agoLink Poisson assigment to poisson_2d.c code.
W. Trevor King [Tue, 9 Nov 2010 16:29:13 +0000 (11:29 -0500)]
Link Poisson assigment to poisson_2d.c code.

10 years agoRemove src/poisson_2d/P_2d.c (duplicated poisson_2d.c).
W. Trevor King [Tue, 9 Nov 2010 16:23:38 +0000 (11:23 -0500)]
Remove src/poisson_2d/P_2d.c (duplicated poisson_2d.c).

10 years agoUpdate assignment 6 for Fall 2010.
W. Trevor King [Tue, 9 Nov 2010 16:05:31 +0000 (11:05 -0500)]
Update assignment 6 for Fall 2010.

10 years agoUpdate assigment 5 for Fall 2009.
W. Trevor King [Tue, 9 Nov 2010 15:51:05 +0000 (10:51 -0500)]
Update assigment 5 for Fall 2009.

10 years agoMerge remote branch 'public/master'
W. Trevor King [Tue, 9 Nov 2010 15:36:44 +0000 (10:36 -0500)]
Merge remote branch 'public/master'

10 years agoServe source code as text/plain.
W. Trevor King [Tue, 9 Nov 2010 15:35:47 +0000 (10:35 -0500)]
Serve source code as text/plain.

10 years agoRemove typo backtick from src/plot_image/README.
W. Trevor King [Tue, 9 Nov 2010 15:32:07 +0000 (10:32 -0500)]
Remove typo backtick from src/plot_image/README.

10 years agoUpdate links to plot_image.py.
W. Trevor King [Tue, 9 Nov 2010 15:29:21 +0000 (10:29 -0500)]
Update links to plot_image.py.

10 years agoMove gen_data_*.c from src/mandelbrot to src/plot_image & add README, Makefile.
W. Trevor King [Tue, 9 Nov 2010 15:22:20 +0000 (10:22 -0500)]
Move gen_data_*.c from src/mandelbrot to src/plot_image & add README, Makefile.

10 years agoExplain that you may have to kill ./plot_image.py's interactive plot.
W. Trevor King [Tue, 9 Nov 2010 15:04:31 +0000 (10:04 -0500)]
Explain that you may have to kill ./plot_image.py's interactive plot.

10 years agoClean up src/plot_image/plot_image.py.
W. Trevor King [Tue, 9 Nov 2010 14:38:23 +0000 (09:38 -0500)]
Clean up src/plot_image/plot_image.py.

10 years agoFix reliex -> rely typo in content/GPUs/index.shtml.
W. Trevor King [Sat, 6 Nov 2010 16:02:33 +0000 (09:02 -0700)]
Fix reliex -> rely typo in content/GPUs/index.shtml.

10 years agoAdd explanatory comment and clean up src/global_operations/print_tree.c output.
W. Trevor King [Sat, 30 Oct 2010 19:52:19 +0000 (15:52 -0400)]
Add explanatory comment and clean up src/global_operations/print_tree.c output.

10 years agoRan `indent -linux` on src/global_operations/*.c.
W. Trevor King [Sat, 30 Oct 2010 19:32:10 +0000 (15:32 -0400)]
Ran `indent -linux` on src/global_operations/*.c.

10 years agoUse %lu to format the number of bytes in src/sorting/main.c.
W. Trevor King [Fri, 29 Oct 2010 15:48:28 +0000 (11:48 -0400)]
Use %lu to format the number of bytes in src/sorting/main.c.

10 years agoRun `indent -linux` to clean up whitespace in src/sorting/main.c.
W. Trevor King [Fri, 29 Oct 2010 15:43:31 +0000 (11:43 -0400)]
Run `indent -linux` to clean up whitespace in src/sorting/main.c.

10 years agoCopy sort-check from src/sorting/main.c to assignments/archive/sorting/soln/main.c.
W. Trevor King [Fri, 29 Oct 2010 15:42:46 +0000 (11:42 -0400)]
Copy sort-check from src/sorting/main.c to assignments/archive/sorting/soln/main.c.

10 years agoRevert ebbd9d49a9741639f255e885bf56f637c28eeda7.
W. Trevor King [Fri, 29 Oct 2010 15:38:09 +0000 (11:38 -0400)]
Revert ebbd9d49a9741639f255e885bf56f637c28eeda7.

commit ebbd9d49a9741639f255e885bf56f637c28eeda7
Author: W. Trevor King <wking@drexel.edu>
Date:   Mon Oct 25 12:54:21 2010 -0400

    quicksort.c: Don't sort the portion of the list that matches the pivot.

This left unsorted entries lying around, but I'm not quite sure why.

10 years agoAdd sort check to src/sorting/main.c's DEBUG code.
W. Trevor King [Fri, 29 Oct 2010 15:36:39 +0000 (11:36 -0400)]
Add sort check to src/sorting/main.c's DEBUG code.

10 years agoUse MPI_ANY_SOURCE when receiving sorted lists in sorting/soln/main.c.
W. Trevor King [Wed, 27 Oct 2010 12:20:52 +0000 (08:20 -0400)]
Use MPI_ANY_SOURCE when receiving sorted lists in sorting/soln/main.c.

10 years agoUpdate tree_broadcast assigment for fall 2010.
W. Trevor King [Tue, 26 Oct 2010 15:01:40 +0000 (11:01 -0400)]
Update tree_broadcast assigment for fall 2010.

10 years agoAdd solution to sorting assignment.
W. Trevor King [Tue, 26 Oct 2010 14:33:44 +0000 (10:33 -0400)]
Add solution to sorting assignment.

10 years agoDon't print more elements than there are in src/sorting/main.c:printlist.
W. Trevor King [Tue, 26 Oct 2010 14:15:21 +0000 (10:15 -0400)]
Don't print more elements than there are in src/sorting/main.c:printlist.

10 years agoUpdate src/sorting/README for main.h -> sort.h rename.
W. Trevor King [Tue, 26 Oct 2010 14:14:53 +0000 (10:14 -0400)]
Update src/sorting/README for main.h -> sort.h rename.

10 years agoquicksort.c: Don't sort the portion of the list that matches the pivot.
W. Trevor King [Mon, 25 Oct 2010 16:54:21 +0000 (12:54 -0400)]
quicksort.c: Don't sort the portion of the list that matches the pivot.

10 years agoProtect quicksort pivot index from overflow.
W. Trevor King [Mon, 25 Oct 2010 15:55:31 +0000 (11:55 -0400)]
Protect quicksort pivot index from overflow.

Mentioned on
  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Quicksort

  Note the left + (right-left)/2 expression. (left + right)/2 would
  seem to be adequate, but in the presence of overflow, can give the
  wrong answer; for example, in signed 16-bit arithmetic, 32000 +
  32000 is not 64000 but -1536, and dividing that number by two will
  give you a new pivotIndex of -768 — obviously wrong.

10 years agoUse a PIPE to pass stdin to the executable in src/sorting/scaling.py.
W. Trevor King [Mon, 25 Oct 2010 14:42:49 +0000 (10:42 -0400)]
Use a PIPE to pass stdin to the executable in src/sorting/scaling.py.

10 years agoAdjust src/sorting/main.c to read stdin by default.
W. Trevor King [Mon, 25 Oct 2010 14:37:56 +0000 (10:37 -0400)]
Adjust src/sorting/main.c to read stdin by default.

10 years agoImport with statement in src/sorting/scaling.py for Python 2.5.
W. Trevor King [Mon, 25 Oct 2010 14:09:55 +0000 (10:09 -0400)]
Import with statement in src/sorting/scaling.py for Python 2.5.

10 years agoDon't wrap epilog in src/sorting/scaling.py --help.
W. Trevor King [Mon, 25 Oct 2010 14:05:03 +0000 (10:05 -0400)]
Don't wrap epilog in src/sorting/scaling.py --help.

10 years agoAdd --generator option to src/sorting/scaling.py.
W. Trevor King [Mon, 25 Oct 2010 14:03:24 +0000 (10:03 -0400)]
Add --generator option to src/sorting/scaling.py.

10 years agoMove main src/sorting/scaling.py code into main() function.
W. Trevor King [Mon, 25 Oct 2010 13:55:25 +0000 (09:55 -0400)]
Move main src/sorting/scaling.py code into main() function.

10 years agoExtend src/sorting/scaling.py to handle `cat data | sort` syntax.
W. Trevor King [Sun, 24 Oct 2010 23:09:17 +0000 (19:09 -0400)]
Extend src/sorting/scaling.py to handle `cat data | sort` syntax.

10 years agoExtend src/sorting/main.c to also read from stdin.
W. Trevor King [Sun, 24 Oct 2010 21:14:41 +0000 (17:14 -0400)]
Extend src/sorting/main.c to also read from stdin.

10 years agoAdded src/sorting/scaling.py to test sort algorithm scaling vs. N.
W. Trevor King [Sun, 24 Oct 2010 19:52:06 +0000 (15:52 -0400)]
Added src/sorting/scaling.py to test sort algorithm scaling vs. N.

10 years agoDocument DEBUG usage and ordered-data generation in src/sorting/README and Makefile.
W. Trevor King [Sun, 24 Oct 2010 18:35:37 +0000 (14:35 -0400)]
Document DEBUG usage and ordered-data generation in src/sorting/README and Makefile.

10 years agoAdd DEBUG and NUM_SHOWN to src/sorting/main.c.
W. Trevor King [Sun, 24 Oct 2010 18:35:06 +0000 (14:35 -0400)]
Add DEBUG and NUM_SHOWN to src/sorting/main.c.

10 years agoGive src/sorting/data.py the option of generating sorted data.
W. Trevor King [Sun, 24 Oct 2010 18:33:41 +0000 (14:33 -0400)]
Give src/sorting/data.py the option of generating sorted data.

10 years agoMinor style cleanups to src/sorting. Also ran through `indent --linux *.[hc]`.
W. Trevor King [Sun, 24 Oct 2010 18:03:23 +0000 (14:03 -0400)]
Minor style cleanups to src/sorting.  Also ran through `indent --linux *.[hc]`.

10 years agoFix links into src/average for average.c and flowchart.pdf.
W. Trevor King [Fri, 15 Oct 2010 13:24:47 +0000 (09:24 -0400)]
Fix links into src/average for average.c and flowchart.pdf.

10 years agompdboot requires an `-n N` option. Adjust src/*/README accordingly.
W. Trevor King [Wed, 13 Oct 2010 16:41:26 +0000 (12:41 -0400)]
mpdboot requires an `-n N` option.  Adjust src/*/README accordingly.

10 years agoDocument 5.cfg in sudoku/index.shtml.
W. Trevor King [Wed, 13 Oct 2010 11:43:01 +0000 (07:43 -0400)]
Document 5.cfg in sudoku/index.shtml.

10 years agoAdd Sudoku._slice_completion_solver() to sudoku.py.
W. Trevor King [Wed, 13 Oct 2010 11:39:03 +0000 (07:39 -0400)]
Add Sudoku._slice_completion_solver() to sudoku.py.

10 years agoAdd Easter Monster Sudoku puzzle as 5.cfg.
W. Trevor King [Tue, 12 Oct 2010 14:51:17 +0000 (10:51 -0400)]
Add Easter Monster Sudoku puzzle as 5.cfg.

10 years agoDocument new Sudoku puzzles in the assigment's index.shtml.
W. Trevor King [Tue, 12 Oct 2010 12:41:02 +0000 (08:41 -0400)]
Document new Sudoku puzzles in the assigment's index.shtml.

10 years agoAdded impossible Sudoku problem 0.cfg to encourage failure testing.
W. Trevor King [Tue, 12 Oct 2010 12:37:43 +0000 (08:37 -0400)]
Added impossible Sudoku problem 0.cfg to encourage failure testing.

10 years agoAdded Sajjan Singh Mehta's harder Sudoku puzzle (4.cfg).
W. Trevor King [Tue, 12 Oct 2010 12:34:26 +0000 (08:34 -0400)]
Added Sajjan Singh Mehta's harder Sudoku puzzle (4.cfg).

Also adjusted spacing of puzzles 1 through 3.

10 years agoFix "failed to solve" comparison in sudoku.py.
W. Trevor King [Tue, 12 Oct 2010 12:29:42 +0000 (08:29 -0400)]
Fix "failed to solve" comparison in sudoku.py.

Also print puzzle status if execution is interrupted.

10 years agoAllow later submission of first two hwk assignments (new student).
W. Trevor King [Fri, 8 Oct 2010 14:58:33 +0000 (10:58 -0400)]
Allow later submission of first two hwk assignments (new student).

10 years agoPoint to Python wrappers and related tools in content/Elementary_MPI/.
W. Trevor King [Fri, 8 Oct 2010 13:41:30 +0000 (09:41 -0400)]
Point to Python wrappers and related tools in content/Elementary_MPI/.

10 years agoAdd vcs-git link to shared/header.shtml.
W. Trevor King [Thu, 7 Oct 2010 13:27:14 +0000 (09:27 -0400)]
Add vcs-git link to shared/header.shtml.

See
  http://kitenet.net/~joey/rfc/rel-vcs/
for a description of the rel=vcs-* microformat.

10 years agoAdd "Examples" link to src/.
W. Trevor King [Thu, 7 Oct 2010 13:24:23 +0000 (09:24 -0400)]
Add "Examples" link to src/.

10 years agoAdd CSS validation to the footer.
W. Trevor King [Thu, 7 Oct 2010 13:21:47 +0000 (09:21 -0400)]
Add CSS validation to the footer.

10 years agoAdd _script/README and fix _script/math.sh documentation.
W. Trevor King [Thu, 7 Oct 2010 13:15:29 +0000 (09:15 -0400)]
Add _script/README and fix _script/math.sh documentation.

10 years agoAdd build- and clean-all.sh scripts for complete builds.
W. Trevor King [Thu, 7 Oct 2010 13:01:00 +0000 (09:01 -0400)]
Add build- and clean-all.sh scripts for complete builds.

10 years agoImprove _script/* root directory handling.
W. Trevor King [Thu, 7 Oct 2010 12:39:57 +0000 (08:39 -0400)]
Improve _script/* root directory handling.

10 years agoAdd Python submit solution.
W. Trevor King [Thu, 7 Oct 2010 12:29:03 +0000 (08:29 -0400)]
Add Python submit solution.

10 years agoAdded Python sudoku solution.
W. Trevor King [Thu, 7 Oct 2010 11:38:35 +0000 (07:38 -0400)]
Added Python sudoku solution.

10 years agoUpdated with first two Fall 2010 assignments.
W. Trevor King [Wed, 6 Oct 2010 20:58:35 +0000 (16:58 -0400)]
Updated with first two Fall 2010 assignments.

10 years agoMerge branch 'master' of /home/einstein/wking/public_html/code/git/parallel_computing
W. Trevor King [Fri, 1 Oct 2010 14:02:51 +0000 (10:02 -0400)]
Merge branch 'master' of /home/einstein/wking/public_html/code/git/parallel_computing

10 years agoCorrect typo "nning" -> "running" in content/message_passing/index.shtml.
W. Trevor King [Fri, 1 Oct 2010 14:01:01 +0000 (10:01 -0400)]
Correct typo "nning" -> "running" in content/message_passing/index.shtml.

11 years agoRemove old temporary files from content/monte_carlo/.
W. Trevor King [Thu, 16 Sep 2010 04:03:12 +0000 (00:03 -0400)]
Remove old temporary files from content/monte_carlo/.

11 years agoCleaned up src/global_operations/ (was src/print_tree/).
W. Trevor King [Thu, 16 Sep 2010 04:01:53 +0000 (00:01 -0400)]
Cleaned up src/global_operations/ (was src/print_tree/).

11 years agoAdd <p>...</p> wrappers to some .tar.gz reference paragraphs.
W. Trevor King [Thu, 16 Sep 2010 02:57:10 +0000 (22:57 -0400)]
Add <p>...</p> wrappers to some .tar.gz reference paragraphs.

11 years agoCleaned up src/sorting/.
W. Trevor King [Thu, 16 Sep 2010 02:52:36 +0000 (22:52 -0400)]
Cleaned up src/sorting/.

11 years agoRemove content/game_of_life/img/old/ (only duplicates of .../img/).
W. Trevor King [Thu, 16 Sep 2010 01:57:27 +0000 (21:57 -0400)]
Remove content/game_of_life/img/old/ (only duplicates of .../img/).

11 years agoCleaned up src/average/.
W. Trevor King [Thu, 16 Sep 2010 01:45:19 +0000 (21:45 -0400)]
Cleaned up src/average/.

11 years agoCleaned up src/MPI2_message_passing/.
W. Trevor King [Wed, 15 Sep 2010 16:28:24 +0000 (12:28 -0400)]
Cleaned up src/MPI2_message_passing/.

11 years agoUpdated .make_tar and .htaccess for all src/* directories.
W. Trevor King [Wed, 15 Sep 2010 11:59:57 +0000 (07:59 -0400)]
Updated .make_tar and .htaccess for all src/* directories.

11 years agoRemove Elementary_MPI/.html_toc now that there is no longer an examples subdir.
W. Trevor King [Wed, 15 Sep 2010 11:56:48 +0000 (07:56 -0400)]
Remove Elementary_MPI/.html_toc now that there is no longer an examples subdir.

11 years agoCleaned up src/hello_MPI/.
W. Trevor King [Wed, 15 Sep 2010 03:43:47 +0000 (23:43 -0400)]
Cleaned up src/hello_MPI/.

11 years ago<i> -> <em> and similar in Elementary_MPI/index.shtml.
W. Trevor King [Wed, 15 Sep 2010 01:36:03 +0000 (21:36 -0400)]
<i> -> <em> and similar in Elementary_MPI/index.shtml.

11 years agoReplace good.c with a symlink to Metropolis_Gaussian_Client_Server.c.
W. Trevor King [Tue, 14 Sep 2010 22:51:55 +0000 (18:51 -0400)]
Replace good.c with a symlink to Metropolis_Gaussian_Client_Server.c.

The source was identical.  I'm not sure why there was a separate
good.c, but we'll keep it for now.