cv-latex.git
3 years agocv.tex: Add a "FLOSS contributions" section master
W. Trevor King [Thu, 12 Apr 2018 19:45:56 +0000 (12:45 -0700)]
cv.tex: Add a "FLOSS contributions" section

To add more background for projects where I've played an important
role for several years.  I think these entries are more relevant for
software positions than the "System administration" section, so I've
put them first.  I've also shifted the old "Software" entries up into
the new section, since the new entries are basically highlights from
the raw project lists.

I've dropped the font size to 11pt to keep everything on two pages.

3 years agocv.tex: Switch to "Resume" to de-emphasize academics ;)
W. Trevor King [Thu, 12 Apr 2018 18:24:05 +0000 (11:24 -0700)]
cv.tex: Switch to "Resume" to de-emphasize academics ;)

3 years agoMakefile: Drop bu3
W. Trevor King [Tue, 27 Mar 2018 23:22:10 +0000 (16:22 -0700)]
Makefile: Drop bu3

We no longer need bu3.  Maybe this is because of 404233c3 (cv.tex:
Drop teaching / research notes and posters, 2018-02-16)?

3 years agocv.tex: Show that my creator list is not exhaustive
W. Trevor King [Sat, 3 Mar 2018 06:03:09 +0000 (22:03 -0800)]
cv.tex: Show that my creator list is not exhaustive

3 years agofixup! cv.tex: Mention signed-off-by
W. Trevor King [Sat, 3 Mar 2018 06:03:00 +0000 (22:03 -0800)]
fixup! cv.tex: Mention signed-off-by

3 years agocv.tex: Explain away blog silence ;)
W. Trevor King [Sat, 3 Mar 2018 06:01:14 +0000 (22:01 -0800)]
cv.tex: Explain away blog silence ;)

3 years agocv.tex: Mention signed-off-by
W. Trevor King [Sat, 3 Mar 2018 05:57:16 +0000 (21:57 -0800)]
cv.tex: Mention signed-off-by

Simple, but I like it, and it helps show my licensing background.

3 years agocv.tex: Mention ccon (probably my best recent C)
W. Trevor King [Sat, 3 Mar 2018 05:54:56 +0000 (21:54 -0800)]
cv.tex: Mention ccon (probably my best recent C)

Maybe worth mentioning ldtree-builder.  I haven't here, because it's
only a few lines, but I think it's an awesome way to build containers.

3 years agocv.tex: Add Go to my list of languages
W. Trevor King [Sat, 17 Feb 2018 23:33:42 +0000 (15:33 -0800)]
cv.tex: Add Go to my list of languages

3 years agocv.tex: Mention SPDX and highlight OCI
W. Trevor King [Sat, 17 Feb 2018 00:28:27 +0000 (16:28 -0800)]
cv.tex: Mention SPDX and highlight OCI

3 years agocv.tex: Shift Education and Publications to the end
W. Trevor King [Sat, 17 Feb 2018 00:15:32 +0000 (16:15 -0800)]
cv.tex: Shift Education and Publications to the end

These are less interesting than my jobs.

3 years agocv.tex: E.123 telephone
W. Trevor King [Sat, 17 Feb 2018 00:14:17 +0000 (16:14 -0800)]
cv.tex: E.123 telephone

3 years agocv.tex: Update URLs and prefer HTTPS
W. Trevor King [Fri, 16 Feb 2018 23:56:36 +0000 (15:56 -0800)]
cv.tex: Update URLs and prefer HTTPS

3 years agocv.tex: Drop python-kmod contributions
W. Trevor King [Fri, 16 Feb 2018 23:47:12 +0000 (15:47 -0800)]
cv.tex: Drop python-kmod contributions

Andy has archived that GitHub repository.

3 years agocv.tex: Drop the rest of the Maintainer section
W. Trevor King [Fri, 16 Feb 2018 23:41:28 +0000 (15:41 -0800)]
cv.tex: Drop the rest of the Maintainer section

I haven't touched drexel-thesis and Hooke in a long time, and software
employers are likely to care about neither.  bes is tiny, and even
Azure is moving away from it.  package-cache is already listed under
the Creator section, and I'm still maintaining the projects listed
there.

3 years agocv.tex: Move rss2email from maintainer -> contributor
W. Trevor King [Fri, 16 Feb 2018 23:39:38 +0000 (15:39 -0800)]
cv.tex: Move rss2email from maintainer -> contributor

Now that I've handed it off to other people [1].

[1]: https://github.com/rss2email/rss2email/issues/3#issuecomment-331250079

3 years agocv.tex: Cull boring projects from creator section
W. Trevor King [Fri, 16 Feb 2018 23:38:06 +0000 (15:38 -0800)]
cv.tex: Cull boring projects from creator section

Trim the small teaching-assistant and experiment-control projects.

3 years agocv.tex: "package" -> "project"
W. Trevor King [Fri, 16 Feb 2018 23:30:51 +0000 (15:30 -0800)]
cv.tex: "package" -> "project"

3 years agocv.tex: Drop teaching / research notes and posters
W. Trevor King [Fri, 16 Feb 2018 23:27:30 +0000 (15:27 -0800)]
cv.tex: Drop teaching / research notes and posters

Also drop some older talks.

These are all far from my current software focus.

3 years agoREADME: Full package name for texlive-bibtexextra
W. Trevor King [Fri, 16 Feb 2018 23:25:58 +0000 (15:25 -0800)]
README: Full package name for texlive-bibtexextra

3 years agocv.bib: Restore a comma after my thesis eprint URI
W. Trevor King [Fri, 16 Feb 2018 23:24:04 +0000 (15:24 -0800)]
cv.bib: Restore a comma after my thesis eprint URI

Fix a typo from 711db608 (cv.bib: Update link to thesis PDF,
2016-04-29).

5 years agocv.bib: Update link to thesis PDF
W. Trevor King [Sat, 30 Apr 2016 03:31:30 +0000 (20:31 -0700)]
cv.bib: Update link to thesis PDF

This is the current "Download pdf" link from [1].

[1]: http://hdl.handle.net/1860/4188

5 years agocv.tex: Cite UW SWC workshops and order by decreasing date
W. Trevor King [Sun, 28 Feb 2016 06:15:17 +0000 (22:15 -0800)]
cv.tex: Cite UW SWC workshops and order by decreasing date

Using the unsrt style to get citation ordering.  I also sorted entries
in the other sections.  Co-instructors are listed in the order in
which we appeared.

The message-ID comments point at emails describing my role and
collaborators for sections I helped instruct, but I've replaced '@'
with ' at ' to avoid confusing BibTeX.

5 years agocv.tex: Drop AngularJS from the languages
W. Trevor King [Fri, 26 Feb 2016 07:36:19 +0000 (23:36 -0800)]
cv.tex: Drop AngularJS from the languages

Since I list it in used-projects, and it's a better fit there.

5 years agocv.tex: Add a trailing comma after OpenSSH entry
W. Trevor King [Fri, 26 Feb 2016 07:35:33 +0000 (23:35 -0800)]
cv.tex: Add a trailing comma after OpenSSH entry

5 years agocv.tex: Drop docker-registry reference
W. Trevor King [Fri, 26 Feb 2016 07:28:56 +0000 (23:28 -0800)]
cv.tex: Drop docker-registry reference

They replaced the Python project with a Go project [1], and I didn't
see eye-to-eye with the new project on a number of design decisions
(e.g. [2]).

[1]: https://github.com/docker/distribution
[2]: https://github.com/docker/docker-registry/issues/704

5 years agocv.tex: Fix 'newtork' -> 'network' typo
W. Trevor King [Fri, 26 Feb 2016 07:27:35 +0000 (23:27 -0800)]
cv.tex: Fix 'newtork' -> 'network' typo

5 years agocv.tex: List the OCI Specs as a contributed-to project
W. Trevor King [Fri, 26 Feb 2016 06:51:03 +0000 (22:51 -0800)]
cv.tex: List the OCI Specs as a contributed-to project

I've been fairly active with this project since it went public [1].

I've gone with the acronym, because spelling out "Open Container
Initiative" seemed too wordy for this list.  Folks can always click on
the link to find more.

[1]: https://github.com/opencontainers/specs/graphs/contributors

5 years agocv.tex: List IPFS as a contributed-to project
W. Trevor King [Fri, 26 Feb 2016 06:47:55 +0000 (22:47 -0800)]
cv.tex: List IPFS as a contributed-to project

Just a bit over the summer of 2015 [1], but I love the idea an would
like to get back to it as I find time.

[1]: https://github.com/ipfs/go-ipfs/commits?author=wking

5 years agocv.tex: Mention package-cache
W. Trevor King [Fri, 26 Feb 2016 06:45:36 +0000 (22:45 -0800)]
cv.tex: Mention package-cache

A lightweight project, but if I'm listing ancient, abandoned stuff
like ChemDB, I certainly want to list this one ;).

5 years agocv.tex: Demote SQLite from language to used-project
W. Trevor King [Fri, 26 Feb 2016 06:43:36 +0000 (22:43 -0800)]
cv.tex: Demote SQLite from language to used-project

And link Wikipedia for SQL itself.

5 years agocv.tex: Move Bugs Everywhere from Maintainer to Contributor
W. Trevor King [Fri, 26 Feb 2016 06:38:31 +0000 (22:38 -0800)]
cv.tex: Move Bugs Everywhere from Maintainer to Contributor

I'm no longer maintaining BE, now that Notmuch's nmbug fills my
distributed-bugtracking needs more efficiently.

5 years agocv.tex: Change 'Managing' to 'Lead developer of'
W. Trevor King [Fri, 26 Feb 2016 06:35:50 +0000 (22:35 -0800)]
cv.tex: Change 'Managing' to 'Lead developer of'

Since we hired Tom in April 2015, he's been in charge of managing
everybody and shepherding the specs.  I'm back to focusing on the
technical stuff.

6 years agocv.tex: In January Jordan stepped down and I'm now the lead
W. Trevor King [Sat, 17 Jan 2015 20:58:06 +0000 (12:58 -0800)]
cv.tex: In January Jordan stepped down and I'm now the lead

7 years agocv.tex: Change 'two-person' to 'small' now that we've hired Gary
W. Trevor King [Tue, 10 Jun 2014 18:11:30 +0000 (11:11 -0700)]
cv.tex: Change 'two-person' to 'small' now that we've hired Gary

7 years agocv.tex: Mention package-cache
W. Trevor King [Tue, 13 May 2014 22:31:40 +0000 (15:31 -0700)]
cv.tex: Mention package-cache

If bes hits the mentionable threshold, this one does too ;).

7 years agocv.tex: Fill in newer projects like Notmuch, Docker, and AngularJS
W. Trevor King [Tue, 13 May 2014 22:28:35 +0000 (15:28 -0700)]
cv.tex: Fill in newer projects like Notmuch, Docker, and AngularJS

7 years agocv.tex: Update with Azure work and associated software
W. Trevor King [Sun, 8 Dec 2013 19:40:08 +0000 (11:40 -0800)]
cv.tex: Update with Azure work and associated software

8 years agocv.tex: Graduated! Cite my thesis :)
W. Trevor King [Tue, 24 Sep 2013 19:54:59 +0000 (12:54 -0700)]
cv.tex: Graduated!  Cite my thesis :)

8 years agocv.tex: Use fixltx2e for \textsubscript
W. Trevor King [Tue, 24 Sep 2013 19:54:26 +0000 (12:54 -0700)]
cv.tex: Use fixltx2e for \textsubscript

I use it in the abstract for my thesis.

8 years agocv.bib: Add my thesis to the bilbliography
W. Trevor King [Tue, 24 Sep 2013 19:53:53 +0000 (12:53 -0700)]
cv.bib: Add my thesis to the bilbliography

8 years agocv.tex: We've moved from Highlands to Olympia
W. Trevor King [Tue, 24 Sep 2013 17:32:43 +0000 (10:32 -0700)]
cv.tex: We've moved from Highlands to Olympia

8 years agocv.tex: Color URL links dark blue st-martins
W. Trevor King [Thu, 30 May 2013 20:16:53 +0000 (16:16 -0400)]
cv.tex: Color URL links dark blue

Give folks an unobtrusive visual cue to hint at the presence of links.

8 years agocv.tex: List my oral thesis defense as a talk
W. Trevor King [Wed, 29 May 2013 18:57:49 +0000 (14:57 -0400)]
cv.tex: List my oral thesis defense as a talk

8 years agocv.tex: Call this thin a curriculum vitae
W. Trevor King [Wed, 29 May 2013 18:48:01 +0000 (14:48 -0400)]
cv.tex: Call this thin a curriculum vitae

It is the more popular term for education-related applications.

8 years agocv.tex: List all posters and talks
W. Trevor King [Wed, 29 May 2013 18:46:52 +0000 (14:46 -0400)]
cv.tex: List all posters and talks

More detail in this area which is probably interesting employers
looking to hire me as a professor.

8 years agocv.bib: Escape ampersand in 2008-06-locks title
W. Trevor King [Wed, 29 May 2013 18:44:38 +0000 (14:44 -0400)]
cv.bib: Escape ampersand in 2008-06-locks title

8 years ago.gitignore: Ignore the effects of the build process
W. Trevor King [Wed, 29 May 2013 18:42:47 +0000 (14:42 -0400)]
.gitignore: Ignore the effects of the build process

8 years agocv.tex: Convert DOS to UNIX endlines
W. Trevor King [Wed, 29 May 2013 18:42:16 +0000 (14:42 -0400)]
cv.tex: Convert DOS to UNIX endlines

8 years agocv.tex: Add Postfix and OpenSSH references
W. Trevor King [Wed, 29 May 2013 18:40:43 +0000 (14:40 -0400)]
cv.tex: Add Postfix and OpenSSH references

8 years agocv.tex: Fix 'neccessary' -> 'necessary' typo
W. Trevor King [Wed, 29 May 2013 18:40:16 +0000 (14:40 -0400)]
cv.tex: Fix 'neccessary' -> 'necessary' typo

8 years agoAdjust CV content to match me
W. Trevor King [Sat, 20 Apr 2013 23:41:08 +0000 (19:41 -0400)]
Adjust CV content to match me

8 years agoMakefile: It's easier to type `make` than `pdflatex ...` ;)
W. Trevor King [Sat, 20 Apr 2013 16:38:10 +0000 (12:38 -0400)]
Makefile: It's easier to type `make` than `pdflatex ...` ;)

8 years agocv.tex: Add template (cvtest.tex) from currvita
W. Trevor King [Sat, 20 Apr 2013 16:18:05 +0000 (12:18 -0400)]
cv.tex: Add template (cvtest.tex) from currvita

http://www.ctan.org/tex-archive/macros/latex/contrib/currvita