catalyst-swc.git
8 years agospec: Bump the snapshot to 20131231 master
W. Trevor King [Wed, 1 Jan 2014 18:35:35 +0000 (10:35 -0800)]
spec: Bump the snapshot to 20131231

Get past 2013-12-30T01:45:02Z to make sure we can handle the stricter
/dev/shm test that Python has grown [1].

[1]: http://sources.gentoo.org/cgi-bin/viewvc.cgi/gentoo-x86/dev-lang/python/python-3.3.2-r2.ebuild?r1=1.14&r2=1.15
     Revision 1.15
     Mon Dec 30 01:45:02 2013 UTC by floppym
     Branch: MAIN
     Changes since 1.14: +7 -1 lines
     Die if sem_open is detected as broken, bug 496328.

8 years agoportage-conf/default/package.accept_keywords/bugs: Remove sysvinit, util-linux ~x86
W. Trevor King [Wed, 1 Jan 2014 03:52:31 +0000 (19:52 -0800)]
portage-conf/default/package.accept_keywords/bugs: Remove sysvinit, util-linux ~x86

Zero_Chaos said this was just due to an old seed stage [1].

[1]: https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=365199#c8

8 years agoportage-conf/default/package.use/circular: +internal-glib
W. Trevor King [Fri, 27 Dec 2013 05:36:11 +0000 (21:36 -0800)]
portage-conf/default/package.use/circular: +internal-glib

Avoid:

   * Error: circular dependencies:

  (sys-apps/util-linux-2.24::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge) depends on
   (virtual/pkgconfig-0::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge) (buildtime)
    (dev-util/pkgconfig-0.28::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge) (buildtime)
     (dev-libs/glib-2.36.4-r1::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge) (buildtime)
      (app-text/docbook-xml-dtd-4.1.2-r6::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge) (buildtime)
       (app-text/build-docbook-catalog-1.19.1::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge) (runtime)
        (sys-apps/util-linux-2.24::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge) (runtime)

  It might be possible to break this cycle
  by applying the following change:
  - dev-util/pkgconfig-0.28 (Change USE: +internal-glib)

8 years agoportage-conf/default/package.use/circular: sys-apps/util-linux -udev
W. Trevor King [Fri, 27 Dec 2013 05:02:09 +0000 (21:02 -0800)]
portage-conf/default/package.use/circular: sys-apps/util-linux -udev

Avoid:

   * Error: circular dependencies:

  (virtual/udev-208::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge) depends on
   (sys-fs/udev-208::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge) (runtime)
    (sys-apps/util-linux-2.24::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge) (buildtime)
     (virtual/udev-208::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge) (buildtime)

  It might be possible to break this cycle
  by applying the following change:
  - sys-apps/util-linux-2.24 (Change USE: -udev)

when building a stage3.

8 years agospec: Update snapshots to 20131212 and stage3 to 20131210
W. Trevor King [Mon, 16 Dec 2013 05:00:45 +0000 (21:00 -0800)]
spec: Update snapshots to 20131212 and stage3 to 20131210

From 20130328 and 20130305 respectively.  I don't have the old
snapshots or stage3s anymore, and the December versions are current on
the mirrors.

9 years agooverlays/default/README: Fix 'equery-licenses.py' -> 'equery-licenses'
W. Trevor King [Thu, 9 May 2013 19:30:02 +0000 (15:30 -0400)]
overlays/default/README: Fix 'equery-licenses.py' -> 'equery-licenses'

Now we match the name of the script introduced in cd730ae
(overlays/default: Add README and equery-licenses, 2013-03-09).

9 years agodefault-livecd-stage1-i686-2013.1.spec: Add sys-apps/usbutils
W. Trevor King [Thu, 9 May 2013 17:30:39 +0000 (17:30 +0000)]
default-livecd-stage1-i686-2013.1.spec: Add sys-apps/usbutils

lsusb is a very useful command :).

9 years agoConvert XSession from fluxbox to the more traditional Xfce4
W. Trevor King [Thu, 9 May 2013 17:21:34 +0000 (17:21 +0000)]
Convert XSession from fluxbox to the more traditional Xfce4

Xfce has a start menu, etc., while fluxbox has you right click on the
root window for all the silly stuff ;).

On Mon, Mar 18, 2013 at 07:38:30PM -0400, jon pipitone wrote:
> What about using Xfce as desktop environment? That might go along
> way to make this machine more usable.

The downside is that the ISO is now 767 MB, which means that we no
longer fit on a CD.  If you're using a 1 GB USB stick, you've still
got some breathing room though ;).

9 years agodefault-stage1-i686-2013.1.spec: Update to 20130305 stage3
W. Trevor King [Thu, 11 Apr 2013 02:36:21 +0000 (22:36 -0400)]
default-stage1-i686-2013.1.spec: Update to 20130305 stage3

From http://distfiles.gentoo.org/releases/x86/autobuilds/20130305/default/20130305/

$ cat stage3-i686-20130305.tar.bz2.DIGESTS.asc
-----BEGIN PGP SIGNED MESSAGE-----
Hash: SHA1

b34f67c613177b5cf58a743c038dea913393ba423fa822b9d6b6529e316b16a27a9d1712ca45094f86cc7233d288bd904b8ee99c9ca1dc1c6e8bd457a16feccd  stage3-i686-20130305.tar.bz2
dc583983c9c8f41640e4ddac7eb75b0809c9693e6122263ba05e299107d386f5691daf956f50411997c06169dac9bbf90d5b139b6d32f9d4b8063cd23292ed8c  stage3-i686-20130305.tar.bz2
3a3dc8d7847ae69e17ef0974700e4e93d829e0cba6a7c43f2d0b75b50e2a9114a0f0225c6efa4d58d9705bf14be473ad42eb2c1aebf6ba3b270ef67962fb2da3  stage3-i686-20130305.tar.bz2.CONTENTS
ee86fe7f70051b1d9586e2015d30f1b7e7d30e217131061f26375905c72c756a329fcde1241fce3d62af86a431d32657c84c0408a8e887796ea5cd9728e5a608  stage3-i686-20130305.tar.bz2.CONTENTS
-----BEGIN PGP SIGNATURE-----
Version: GnuPG v2.0.19 (GNU/Linux)

iQIcBAEBAgAGBQJRUKHxAAoJELtXLg4tGCkQWzoP/ihzztYNtTMGqm/t0SwNNh3Y
LulH3DeqPQ6f8uizeYYuYHO7ykiBnKKjtSZ2KsqE1m+Ac3PLSVkzFFRtfr3yyTgL
2jFn0vaIszxKBc2ltAHwREAJfGpwvNCxIMRwd4i+4M6smu9jF8Yqz1wczApWb1av
x//VPPmoGqwJoyp0Lraju4mIFj/v3Mwf6ihvM+tJDXRv9HPEtehnWMYhQhIbSFSg
HPoE+b/n1TpvwQMEpdP5HxZx6HnFNZvLAMssYb6A8voJYbIPESJUAPQ54uHhL3R2
KokeJsmdTT5AfYeBH14IjgTgDwNE/FfJRuDyRyHpya6EiJoWAarY1kBReawfZMbo
aeHK7eAjRqi2cTacHjf6XY8+4BL9QDPBgmQWNMH+O+B/wvTHHUrwkq5yRszSS4uX
6bF4zwvt5SOWdrPawkzeLEioHo61Yqq2TJU67UEQlBkFQXfKhEXx+BYR6p1SxN0V
z/A7gT6MlBOHiwuYOU6D8CbU631LboN97G+RD1nISRK19KT5PJY15iQftCt9DWoe
u+GQCfrwFUHRIM/V8YgRjTmnd+V2NhlTHh9336Z/LVDrU7gyaMZXxltEJ2U/5ByQ
b/tv3SobRHWGALDnAVgjFwINH0dP3UG8pPjObUmqSCG2ZSZ2KIWQ3Z+cZGqonhwB
KoMeUxu5aMIEkAmEN5D+
=vvkv
-----END PGP SIGNATURE-----

9 years agodefault-livecd-stage1-i686-2013.1.spec: Disable www-client/w3m
W. Trevor King [Fri, 29 Mar 2013 12:23:38 +0000 (08:23 -0400)]
default-livecd-stage1-i686-2013.1.spec: Disable www-client/w3m

It's failing to build with:

  ...
  a - wtf.o
  i686-pc-linux-gnu-ranlib libwc.a
  make[1]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/www-client/w3m-0.5.3-r1/work/w3m-0.5.3/libwc'
  emake failed
  ...

Since we're building Firefox, I'm not going to bother tracking this
one down at the moment.

9 years agofsscript.sh: Make a ~swc/.fluxbox/ directory for fluxbox-generate_menu
W. Trevor King [Fri, 29 Mar 2013 12:20:15 +0000 (08:20 -0400)]
fsscript.sh: Make a ~swc/.fluxbox/ directory for fluxbox-generate_menu

And make sure everything under ~swc/ is owned by swc.users.

This fixes:

  Running fsscript.sh in chroot /.../livecd-stage2-i686-2013.1/
  touch: cannot touch '/home/swc/.fluxbox/menuconfig':
    No such file or directory
  Warning: I couldn't create /home/swc/.fluxbox/menuconfig
  Fatal error: can't create or write to /home/swc/.fluxbox/menu

9 years agospec: Update snapshot from 20130320 to 20130328
W. Trevor King [Thu, 28 Mar 2013 11:43:10 +0000 (07:43 -0400)]
spec: Update snapshot from 20130320 to 20130328

This gets us app-text/poppler-0.22.2-r2, which closes some CVE issues
(with 0.22.1) and works with evince (with 0.22.2-r2).  For details,
see #459866 [1].

[1]: https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=459866

9 years agoportage-conf/default: Don't bring in wxpython 2.9.4.1
W. Trevor King [Wed, 20 Mar 2013 16:50:28 +0000 (12:50 -0400)]
portage-conf/default: Don't bring in wxpython 2.9.4.1

Limit the number of testing (~x86) packages.

I'm not quite sure why wxpython 2.9 is being drawn in, but disabling
these use flags seems to fix it.

9 years agospec: Update snapshot from 20130308 to 20130320
W. Trevor King [Wed, 20 Mar 2013 12:57:27 +0000 (08:57 -0400)]
spec: Update snapshot from 20130308 to 20130320

9 years agodefault-livecd-stage1-i686-2013.1.spec: Remove x11-misc/slim
W. Trevor King [Wed, 20 Mar 2013 10:49:38 +0000 (06:49 -0400)]
default-livecd-stage1-i686-2013.1.spec: Remove x11-misc/slim

I have the following patches in my build version of catalyst:

* livecdfs-update.sh: Use `bash --login` to spawn startx
* livecd-bashrc: Avoid a startx race by restricting to tty1

which allow me to boot directly into startx without needing a login
manager.

9 years agofsscript.sh: Call fluxbox-generate_menu to pickup Firefox, etc.
W. Trevor King [Wed, 20 Mar 2013 10:23:06 +0000 (06:23 -0400)]
fsscript.sh: Call fluxbox-generate_menu to pickup Firefox, etc.

Nothing installed after Fluxbox shows up in the Fluxbox menu unless
you regenerate the menu.  There's not much on this livecd, but having
a menu entry for Firefox is important, and before this commit it was
missing (as reported by Jon Pipitone).

9 years agoportage-conf: Move package.keywords to package.accept_keywords
W. Trevor King [Tue, 12 Mar 2013 17:22:49 +0000 (13:22 -0400)]
portage-conf: Move package.keywords to package.accept_keywords

This brings me up to date with Portage's 39020a6 (Add support for
/etc/portage/package.accept_keywords, 2010-08-15) [1].

Thanks to Chí-Thanh Christopher Nguyễn (chithead) and Ben Kohler
(iamben) for pointing this out to me on #gentoo.

[1]: http://git.overlays.gentoo.org/gitweb/?p=proj/portage.git;a=commit;h=39020a6a418c0910b372e04a8f4959ce258d1989

9 years agospec: Convert /mnt/d/... to /var/tmp/catalyst
W. Trevor King [Sun, 10 Mar 2013 01:37:48 +0000 (20:37 -0500)]
spec: Convert /mnt/d/... to /var/tmp/catalyst

It's easier to reuse these spec files if I stick to a standard
location and:

  # mount --bind /mnt/d/... /var/tmp/catalyst

to attach my extra space to the standard location.

9 years agopackage.keywords: Add additional ~x86 keywords
W. Trevor King [Sun, 10 Mar 2013 01:19:15 +0000 (20:19 -0500)]
package.keywords: Add additional ~x86 keywords

As directed by emerge in order to emerge our target packages.

9 years agospec: Update snapshot from 20130208 to 20130308
W. Trevor King [Sun, 10 Mar 2013 01:15:50 +0000 (20:15 -0500)]
spec: Update snapshot from 20130208 to 20130308

9 years agodefault-stage1-i686-2013.1.spec: Add 'update_seed=yes'
W. Trevor King [Sun, 10 Mar 2013 01:14:49 +0000 (20:14 -0500)]
default-stage1-i686-2013.1.spec: Add 'update_seed=yes'

The 2012-12-13 stage3 uses libmpc.so.2, but the 2013-03-08 Portage
snapshot installes libmpc.so.3.

9 years agooverlays/default: Add README and equery-licenses
W. Trevor King [Sun, 10 Mar 2013 01:06:32 +0000 (20:06 -0500)]
overlays/default: Add README and equery-licenses

The packages distributed in the release ISOs are distributed under a
range of licenses, but in the ISO we distribute them without their
source.  Since many licenses (e.g. the GPLv2, section 3) require you
to also distribute or provide access to the corresponding source code,
it's good to be clear about the licensing of the bundled binaries.

The large list of installed packages and licenses can also serve as a
teaching tool for explaining how open source development works, and
emphasizing why using a standard license is a good idea ;).

9 years agodefault-livecd-stage1-i686-2013.1.spec: Add bindist to livecd/use
W. Trevor King [Sat, 9 Mar 2013 17:36:39 +0000 (12:36 -0500)]
default-livecd-stage1-i686-2013.1.spec: Add bindist to livecd/use

Firefox doesn't allow branded binary distribution by third parties,
and there may be other packages with binary distribution restrictions.
Enabling this USE flag ensures that we don't run afoul of these
restrictions.

9 years agopackage.keywords/ipython: Fix '~amd64' -> '~x86' typos
W. Trevor King [Sat, 9 Mar 2013 16:55:42 +0000 (11:55 -0500)]
package.keywords/ipython: Fix '~amd64' -> '~x86' typos

Oops, sloppy me.

9 years agoportage-conf/default/package.use/x: Re-break pambase <-> consolekit loop
W. Trevor King [Sat, 9 Mar 2013 12:45:05 +0000 (07:45 -0500)]
portage-conf/default/package.use/x: Re-break pambase <-> consolekit loop

I's disabled consolekit for pambase in package.use/circular, but this
was re-enabling it (and package.use/x is parsed after
package.use/circular).  This dependency cycle broke the stage3 build,
but was, apparently, needed for some later stage.  If this fix doesn't
work, we can transition to using different portage-conf subdirectories
for different stages.

9 years agodefault-livecd-stage1-i686-2013.1.spec: Add Firefox package
W. Trevor King [Fri, 8 Mar 2013 14:31:52 +0000 (09:31 -0500)]
default-livecd-stage1-i686-2013.1.spec: Add Firefox package

The previous ISO weighed in at 665 MB, so there should be room for
Firefox to still fit on a 737 MB CD.  We need *something* with fairly
modern CSS and JavaScript support for IPython.

9 years agodefault-livecd-stage1-i686-2013.1.spec: Add python to livecd/use
W. Trevor King [Fri, 8 Mar 2013 03:57:13 +0000 (22:57 -0500)]
default-livecd-stage1-i686-2013.1.spec: Add python to livecd/use

This is required in VTK 5.10.1 by MayaVi 4.2.0, but SWC likes Python,
so we enable this globally.

9 years agodefault-livecd-stage1-i686-2013.1.spec: Add livecd/use with gtk & ipython
W. Trevor King [Fri, 8 Mar 2013 03:49:17 +0000 (22:49 -0500)]
default-livecd-stage1-i686-2013.1.spec: Add livecd/use with gtk & ipython

These are used by SymPy, but we want to enable them globally in case
other packages use them too.

9 years agopackage.keywords: Add ~x86 where necessary for new packages
W. Trevor King [Fri, 8 Mar 2013 03:48:34 +0000 (22:48 -0500)]
package.keywords: Add ~x86 where necessary for new packages

9 years agodefault-livecd-stage1-i686-2013.1.spec: Add Mercurial and other packages
W. Trevor King [Fri, 8 Mar 2013 03:25:28 +0000 (22:25 -0500)]
default-livecd-stage1-i686-2013.1.spec: Add Mercurial and other packages

With these packages we'll be closer to passing the full
swc-installation-test-2.py suite.

9 years ago.gitignore: Ignore build directories
W. Trevor King [Tue, 5 Mar 2013 21:38:13 +0000 (16:38 -0500)]
.gitignore: Ignore build directories

This is what we're ignoring:

  $ tree
  .
  |-- builds            # compiled and seed stages
  |   `-- default
  |       |-- stage1-i686-2013.1.tar.bz2
  |       ...
  |       `-- stage3-i686-2013.1.tar.bz2.DIGESTS
  |-- iso               # compiled ISOs
  |   |-- swc-x86.iso
  |   |-- swc-x86.iso.CONTENTS
  |   `-- swc-x86.iso.DIGESTS
  |-- kerncache         # cached kernel compilation
  |   `-- default
  |       |-- livecd-stage1-i686-2013.1  # empty (no kernel in livecd-stage1)
  |       |-- livecd-stage2-i686-2013.1  # lots of kernel compilation stuff
  |       ...
  |-- packages          # binary packages from per-stage emerges
  |   `-- default
  |       |-- livecd-stage1-i686-2013.1  # emerged during livecd-stage1
  |       ...
  |       `-- stage3-i686-2013.1         # emerged during stage3
  ...
  |-- snapshot_cache    # unpacked portage snapshots
  |   `-- 20130208
  |-- snapshots         # packed portage snapshots
  |   |-- portage-20130208.tar.bz2
  |   |-- portage-20130208.tar.bz2.CONTENTS
  |   `-- portage-20130208.tar.bz2.DIGESTS
  ...
  `-- tmp               # unpacked stage chroots
      |-- default
      |   |-- livecd-stage1-i686-2013.1
      |   |-- livecd-stage2-i686-2013.1
      |   |-- stage1-i686-2013.1
      |   |-- stage2-i686-2013.1
      |   `-- stage3-i686-2013.1
      `-- portage
          `-- portage   # unpacked portage snapshot

9 years agoInitial SWC (Gentoo) Linux 2013.1 x86 configuration
W. Trevor King [Tue, 5 Mar 2013 21:03:48 +0000 (16:03 -0500)]
Initial SWC (Gentoo) Linux 2013.1 x86 configuration

This is the catalyst stuff for building a Gentoo live CD ISO for
Software Carpentry students [1].  It's pretty bare-bones at the
moment, since I tried to keep any non-specfile stuff to a minimum.  It
also requires a few patches on top of the current catalyst master
(37540ff):

  livecdfs-update.sh: Assign users to per-user groups
  livecd-bashrc: Avoid a startx race by restricting to tty1
  livecdfs-update.sh: Use `bash --login` to spawn startx
  livecdfs-update.sh: Escape ampersands in STARTX sed expression
  fixup: env-update
  livecdfs-update.sh: Set XSESSION in /etc/env.d/90xsession
  chmod +x all sh scripts so they can run from the git checkout

This is not the most elegant patch series, and some of these patches
will probably be squashed/tweaked before inclusion in upstream
catalyst.  I'm not even sure if the per-user group patch is a good
idea (but it shouldn't hurt).

My catalyst.conf file looked like:

  digests="md5 sha1 sha512 whirlpool"
  contents="auto"
  distdir="/usr/portage/distfiles"
  envscript="/etc/catalyst/catalystrc"
  hash_function="crc32"
  options="autoresume kerncache pkgcache seedcache snapcache"
  portdir="/usr/portage"
  sharedir="/home/wking/src/catalyst"
  snapshot_cache="/tmp/catalyst/snapshot_cache"
  storedir="/tmp/catalyst"

This repository was checked out into $storedir.

The spec files should be fairly stable (modulo snapshot/version
bumps), but you may need to update the Portage configuration as stable
packages evolve and assorted bugs and incompatibilities are fixed
upstream.

[1]: http://lists.software-carpentry.org/pipermail/discuss-software-carpentry.org/2013-March/000210.html