assignment-template.git
9 years ago.gitignore: Ignore the generated distribution tarball master
W. Trevor King [Fri, 22 Feb 2013 16:20:48 +0000 (11:20 -0500)]
.gitignore: Ignore the generated distribution tarball

9 years agoMakefile: Drop the 'static pattern rule' buzzwords ;)
W. Trevor King [Thu, 7 Feb 2013 22:07:49 +0000 (17:07 -0500)]
Makefile: Drop the 'static pattern rule' buzzwords ;)

9 years agoMakefile: Strip trailing whitespace after SCRIPT
W. Trevor King [Fri, 25 Jan 2013 19:13:02 +0000 (14:13 -0500)]
Makefile: Strip trailing whitespace after SCRIPT

9 years agoMakefile: Quote all $@ and $< expansion
W. Trevor King [Wed, 23 Jan 2013 18:01:51 +0000 (13:01 -0500)]
Makefile: Quote all $@ and $< expansion

To protect against spaces and special characters in their values.

9 years agoMakefile: Bump copyright year
W. Trevor King [Mon, 21 Jan 2013 14:55:26 +0000 (09:55 -0500)]
Makefile: Bump copyright year

9 years agoMakefile: Document first-rule-target as the default
W. Trevor King [Mon, 21 Jan 2013 14:53:24 +0000 (09:53 -0500)]
Makefile: Document first-rule-target as the default

9 years agoMakefile: Use `a, b, and c` instead of `a, b and c` in comments
W. Trevor King [Mon, 14 Jan 2013 19:26:19 +0000 (14:26 -0500)]
Makefile: Use `a, b, and c` instead of `a, b and c` in comments

9 years agoMakefile: Link to pattern rule documentation
W. Trevor King [Mon, 14 Jan 2013 18:05:28 +0000 (13:05 -0500)]
Makefile: Link to pattern rule documentation

And call them "pattern rules" not "matching rules".

9 years agoMakefile: add SCRIPTS for non-compiled scripts.
W. Trevor King [Fri, 12 Oct 2012 18:44:25 +0000 (14:44 -0400)]
Makefile: add SCRIPTS for non-compiled scripts.

These scripts will be distributed, but not cleaned up.  This is useful
if running your package is too complicated to wedge into the Makefile,
and you want to pull it out into run.sh or whatever.

9 years agoMakefile: add *.cpp and *.h to automatically distributed SOURCE.
W. Trevor King [Thu, 11 Oct 2012 11:03:06 +0000 (07:03 -0400)]
Makefile: add *.cpp and *.h to automatically distributed SOURCE.

9 years agoREADME: mention goodbye_world as a compiled target.
W. Trevor King [Fri, 5 Oct 2012 17:40:01 +0000 (10:40 -0700)]
README: mention goodbye_world as a compiled target.

9 years agoMakefile: $(CC) actually expands to `cc`, not `gcc`.
W. Trevor King [Fri, 5 Oct 2012 17:38:08 +0000 (10:38 -0700)]
Makefile: $(CC) actually expands to `cc`, not `gcc`.

9 years agoRestore C++ example, and expad Makefile to handle multiple programs.
W. Trevor King [Fri, 5 Oct 2012 17:31:49 +0000 (10:31 -0700)]
Restore C++ example, and expad Makefile to handle multiple programs.

9 years agoMakefile: Add print-% and printvars rules for Makefile introspection.
W. Trevor King [Fri, 5 Oct 2012 16:39:38 +0000 (12:39 -0400)]
Makefile: Add print-% and printvars rules for Makefile introspection.

Based on John Graham-Cumming's "Dumping Every Makefile Variable"
  http://www.cmcrossroads.com/ask-mr-make/6521-dumping-every-makefile-variable

9 years agoREADME: fix `make help` -> ``make help`` reStructuredText markup.
W. Trevor King [Fri, 5 Oct 2012 16:33:44 +0000 (12:33 -0400)]
README: fix `make help` -> ``make help`` reStructuredText markup.

9 years agoREADME: generalize 'C++' -> 'C or C++'.
W. Trevor King [Fri, 5 Oct 2012 12:21:40 +0000 (05:21 -0700)]
README: generalize 'C++' -> 'C or C++'.

9 years agoFix generated release comment in the Makefile.
W. Trevor King [Fri, 5 Oct 2012 12:19:11 +0000 (05:19 -0700)]
Fix generated release comment in the Makefile.

9 years agoAdd .gitignore to ignore built files.
W. Trevor King [Fri, 28 Sep 2012 13:15:42 +0000 (06:15 -0700)]
Add .gitignore to ignore built files.

9 years agoConvert package from C++ to C.
W. Trevor King [Fri, 28 Sep 2012 13:15:04 +0000 (06:15 -0700)]
Convert package from C++ to C.

9 years agoBegin versioning project template.
W. Trevor King [Fri, 28 Sep 2012 13:10:05 +0000 (06:10 -0700)]
Begin versioning project template.